Contracting office

Building Construction contracts from Department of Commerce NIST (1333ND)

Also called: DEPT OF COMMERCE NIST

Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Sep 21, 2026. Data status

Open Building Construction bids here now

No open Building Construction bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search

Typical award (median)

$148,325

The middle of 215 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $50.4k and $597k.

Typical number of bids

3

Median bids per award, reported for 113 of 113 competed awards. 16% drew only one bid.

Won by small businesses

96%

Share of the 215 priced awards.

Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.

What this means

  • The middle building construction award from Department of Commerce NIST was $148k (FY2021-FY2025, 215 priced awards).
  • That is 17% lower than the median for building construction nationwide ($178k).
  • Competed awards drew a median of 3 offers (reported for 113 of 113).
  • 16% of competed awards drew only one offer.
  • In FY2025 the middle award was $261k, about the same as in FY2024.
  • Tip 50% of these awards were task orders under multiple-award contracts (MATOCs). To compete for those, you first need a spot on one of the umbrella contracts.
  • Tip 90% of awards with a reported set-aside were reserved for small businesses, so small firms were not bidding against large companies.

FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist

Get alerts for new building construction work near you

  • Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
  • Deadline and amendment alerts
  • Recompete radar
  • Plain-English bid summaries
  • Competitor tracking
  • Unlimited saved searches

Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing

Your sign-up did not go through. Please check your email and ZIP code and try again. The spam check needs JavaScript turned on.

Add your company (optional)

We only email you about the launch. Delete your details any time.

Awards per year

Column chart of awards per fiscal year, FY2016 to FY2026. FY2025, the latest full year: 25 awards. Most in one year: 55 awards in FY2021. FY2026 is still being reported. 0 20 40 60 2016 ’16 2017 ’17 2018 ’18 2019 ’19 2020 ’20 55 2021 ’21 2022 ’22 2023 ’23 2024 ’24 25 2025 ’25 2026 ’26
  • FY2025, the latest full year: 25 awards
  • FY2026 is still being reported
Federal fiscal years run October to September.
Show the numbers
YearAwardsMedian award
FY2016 27 $251,093
FY2017 29 $166,256
FY2018 31 $104,954
FY2019 40 $85,358
FY2020 36 $99,714
FY2021 55 $179,998
FY2022 50 $61,186
FY2023 49 $157,146
FY2024 36 $266,165
FY2025 25 $260,597
FY2026 (provisional) 26 $203,466

Award sizes

Bar chart of priced awards FY2021–FY2025 by size. The most common size was $25k to $250k (106 awards). The median award, $148,325, is in the $25k to $250k band. Under $25k 26 $25k to $250k 106 $250k to $1M 45 $1M to $5M 27 $5M to $25M 10 Over $25M 1
  • Holds the median award, $148,325
Priced awards FY2021–FY2025, by value at award.

Recent awards

The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.

Project How it was awarded
Sep 22, 2026 NIST Gen Const IDIQ 1333ND26FNB190169 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Sandow Construction Inc $39,652 5 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) HUBZone
Sep 20, 2026 NIST Gen Construction IDIQ 1333ND26FNB190159 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Sandow Construction Inc $51,283 5 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) HUBZone
Sep 20, 2026 NIST Gen Construction IDIQ 1333ND26FNB190160 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Sandow Construction Inc $338,400 5 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) HUBZone
Sep 20, 2026 NIST Gen Construction IDIQ 1333ND26FNB190161 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Sandow Construction Inc $35,694 5 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) HUBZone
Sep 20, 2026 Gen Construction IDIQ 1333ND26FNB190162 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Equipment purchase Sandow Construction Inc $124,130 5 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) HUBZone
Sep 19, 2026 Cup IDIQ Task Order One (1), OU19-FY26-015-NEW 1333ND26FNB190152 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Unusually large Offers from IDIQ Hitt Contracting, Inc. $51,830,842 4 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Sep 18, 2026 Roll-Up Door Repair, Replace, and Maintenance 1333ND26FNB190153 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Sandow Construction Inc $74,584 1 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) HUBZone
Sep 17, 2026 Stipend for RFP Response, OU19-FY26-013-NEW 1333ND26PNB190511 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Hensel Phelps Construction Co $280,000 1 Competed Open to all
Sep 10, 2026 OU19-FY26-396-NEW Construction Services Site IT Room Wildfire Hardening. 1333ND26FNB190225 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Weil Construction Inc $4,170,844 4 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 9, 2026 OU19-FY26-378-NEW Construction Services for Building 1 from Central Utility Plant. 1333ND26FNB190217 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Hhi Corporation $11,296,713 2 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 9, 2026 OU19-FY26-395-NEW Construction Services for Shelter on Site Wildfire Hardening. 1333ND26FNB190229 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Olgoonik Enterprises, LLC $3,449,521 3 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 2, 2026 OU19-FY26-376-NEW Cup Chiller Replacement (Phase 2) 1333ND26FNB190177 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Olgoonik Enterprises, LLC $9,696,725 2 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 2, 2026 OU19-FY26-393-NEW Construction Services for Installation of Electrical Power Drops in Building 3. 1333ND26FNB190215 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Olgoonik Enterprises, LLC $59,769 4 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 1, 2026 OU19-FY26-092-NEW B2 1330 Fume Hood Replacement 1333ND26CNB190023 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Sterling Constructors LLC $176,931 8 Competed Small business
Aug 21, 2026 OU19-FY26-377-NEW Steam Tunnel Ventilation, NIST, Boulder, CO 1333ND26CNB190020 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Front Range Construction Inc $522,730 3 Competed Small business
Aug 19, 2026 OU19-FY26-178-NEW NIST Boulder Site-Wide Handrail Project 1333ND26CNB190012 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Individual contractor (name withheld) $124,094 9 Competed Small business
Aug 18, 2026 OU19-FY26-106-NEW Construction for Building 1 Courtyard Repairs. 1333ND26FNB190196 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Olgoonik Enterprises, LLC $1,221,930 3 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Aug 14, 2026 OU19-FY26-392-NEW B1-2001 Generator Replacement 1333ND26FNB190180 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Olgoonik Enterprises, LLC $548,082 4 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Aug 12, 2026 OU19-FY26-415-NEW Replacement of Wooden Stairs with Mechanized Stairs - Building 2 - Construction 1333ND26CNB190013 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Landaq Global Group LLC $29,850 7 Competed Small business
Aug 11, 2026 OU19-FY26-222-NEW/ NIST Boulder Building 51 Painting and Flooring Construction Project 1333ND26CNB190011 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Precision Tile & Home Remodel LLC $23,640 13 Competed Small business
Aug 11, 2026 OU19-FY26-099-NEW Lab Utility Hardening - Construction 1333ND26FNB190168 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Olgoonik Enterprises, LLC $1,451,193 3 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Aug 10, 2026 OU19-FY26-179-NEW / NIST Boulder Site-Wide Road Painting - Construction 1333ND26CNB190015 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Crowley Holdings LLC $51,750 14 Competed Small business
Aug 3, 2026 Boiler Repair and Welding. Forecast Number: OU19-FY26-159-NEW 1333ND26PNB190309 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) M & M Welding & Fabricators Inc $100,000 1 Competed Open to all
Jul 31, 2026 Construction for Boiler Repair Services. Forecast Number: OU19-FY26-190-NEW 1333ND26PNB190299 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) M & M Welding & Fabricators Inc $260,900 1 Competed Open to all
Jul 29, 2026 OU19-FY26-224-NEW/Building 8 Gutter and Roof Repair, NIST, Boulder, CO 1333ND26CNB190014 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Individual contractor (name withheld) $230,000 9 Competed Small business

Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders.

Who won

Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.

#CompanyAwardsTotal value at award
1 Olgoonik Enterprises, LLC 21 $27,132,290
2 Island Contracting, Inc. 21 $1,849,290
3 Sandow Construction Inc 16 $10,038,943
4 Front Range Construction Inc 15 $2,005,250
5 Ritz Construction Inc 11 $3,569,488
6 Hurley & Hurley Inc. 11 $2,010,675
7 Landivar & Associates LLC 10 $3,724,115
8 Hsu Development, Inc. 10 $3,439,375
9 Matos Builders LLC 9 $2,469,198
10 The Fields Group, LLC 9 $353,802

How the work was bought

Competition

Was the work open to bids?

  • Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 108 (50%)

    A task order placed under an IDIQ held by several companies, who competed for it.

  • Not competed 74 (34%)

    Sole-source: only one company was asked.

  • Order (single-award IDIQ) 28 (13%)

    A task order under an IDIQ held by one company. No new competition, so it is left out of bid statistics.

  • Competed 5 (2%)

    A standalone contract that was open to bids.

Set-asides

Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.

  • 8(a) 99 (46%)

    Reserved for firms in SBA's 8(a) program for disadvantaged small businesses.

  • Small business 63 (29%)

    Only small businesses could bid.

  • HUBZone 31 (14%)

    Reserved for small businesses in a Historically Underutilized Business Zone.

  • Open to all 22 (10%)

    No set-aside: any size of business could bid.

Left out of the numbers above: 4 equipment purchases, 6 cancelled or $0 awards. Why?

Umbrella contracts used here

Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.

Contract Type Orders Ordering ends
1333ND19DNB190023 Single-award The IDIQ drew 1 offers 19 Mar 23, 2023
FA251720D0004 Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 12 offers 14 Feb 2, 2030
1333ND18DNB190006 Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 13 offers 11 Jan 19, 2024
1333ND21DNB190004 Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 4 offers 10 Jan 14, 2026
1333ND22DNB190020 Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 9 offers 10 Sep 20, 2026

Contracts ending soon

Recurring work whose current contract ends within 18 months, so the agency will likely buy it again (a "recompete"). The company doing it today is the incumbent.

Report an error on this page

Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.