Metro area
Heavy & Civil Construction contracts in the Omaha, NE area
Also called: Omaha, NE-IA
Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Jul 13, 2026. Data status
Open Heavy & Civil Construction bids here now
No open Heavy & Civil Construction bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search
Typical award (median)
$2,619,720
The middle of 19 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $3k and $9.1M.
Typical number of bids
4
Median bids per award, reported for 18 of 18 competed awards. 17% drew only one bid.
Won by small businesses
100%
Share of the 19 priced awards.
Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.
What this means
- The middle heavy & civil award in the Omaha, NE area was $2.6M (FY2021-FY2025, 19 priced awards).
- That is 20% higher than the median for heavy & civil in Nebraska ($2.2M).
- Competed awards drew a median of 4 offers (reported for 18 of 18).
- 17% of competed awards drew only one offer.
- Small businesses won 100% of priced awards.
- Tip 42% of these awards were task orders under multiple-award contracts (MATOCs). To compete for those, you first need a spot on one of the umbrella contracts.
- Tip 95% of awards with a reported set-aside were reserved for small businesses, so small firms were not bidding against large companies.
FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist
Get alerts for new heavy & civil work in the Omaha, NE area
- Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
- Deadline and amendment alerts
- Recompete radar
- Plain-English bid summaries
- Competitor tracking
- Unlimited saved searches
Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing
Awards per year
- FY2025, the latest full year: 5 awards
- FY2026 is still being reported
Show the numbers
| Year | Awards | Median award |
|---|---|---|
| FY2016 | 5 | $283,750 |
| FY2017 | 2 | – |
| FY2018 | 2 | – |
| FY2019 | 7 | $990,402 |
| FY2020 | 10 | $6,330,903 |
| FY2021 | 5 | $6,486,126 |
| FY2022 | 5 | $11,950,724 |
| FY2023 | 3 | – |
| FY2024 | 1 | – |
| FY2025 | 5 | $3,000 |
| FY2026 (provisional) | 5 | $679,905 |
Award sizes
- Holds the median award, $2,619,720
Recent awards
The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.
| Project | How it was awarded | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 20, 2026 | Building 55 - District Warehouse Exterior Renovation Missouri River Project, Nebraska W9128F26CA032 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Youngs General Contracting Inc | $1,561,800 | 5 | Competed Small business |
| May 12, 2026 | All Plant, Labor, Materials, and Equipment and Performing All Work for Missouri River Levee L-611 - 614 Flood Rehabilitation, Mills and Pottawattamie Counties, Iowa. Work Shall Be in Accordance with Plans and Specifications. W9128F26CA029 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Three Oaks Construction, Inc | $679,905 | 9 | Competed Small business |
| Mar 27, 2026 | Fitness - Soccer Pitch Repair at Fieldhouse FA460026P0026 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Lonergan Electric Service Inc | $24,543 | 4 | Competed Small business |
| Jan 21, 2026 | R-613 2019 Follow-on Repairs W9128F26CA014 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Gale Construction Company of Illinois | $4,424,700 | 11 | Competed Small business |
| Oct 29, 2025 | Cedar Creek Levee Rehab Cass County, NE W9128F26CA003 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Yost Excavating Inc | $668,625 | 10 | Competed Small business |
| Sep 2, 2025 | Maintenance of the Navigation Channels on Nations Navigable Rivers and the Bank Stabilization and Navigation Project from Rulo, NE (River Mile 498.2) to Lower Ponca Bend (River Mile 750.0) to Repair and Maintain These Channels W9128F25FA129 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Western Contracting Corp | $2,619,720 | 6 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Aug 28, 2025 | Maintenance of the Navigation Channels on Nations Navigable Rivers and the Bank Stabilization and Navigation Project from Rulo, NE (River Mile 498.2) to Lower Ponca Bend (River Mile 750.0) to Repair and Maintain These Channels W9128F25FA141 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | W A Ellis Construction Co. | $3,000 | 6 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Aug 27, 2025 | Maintenance of the Navigation Channels on Nations Navigable Rivers and the Bank Stabilization and Navigation Project from Rulo, NE (River Mile 498.2) to Lower Ponca Bend (River Mile 750.0) to Repair and Maintain These Channels W9128F25FA133 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Midwest Construction Co | $3,000 | 6 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Aug 27, 2025 | Maintenance of the Navigation Channels on Nations Navigable Rivers and the Bank Stabilization and Navigation Project Minimum Guarantee W9128F25FA134 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Dubuque Barge and Fleeting Service Co | $3,000 | 6 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Aug 27, 2025 | Maintenance of the Navigation Channels on Nations Navigable Rivers and the Bank Stabilization and Navigation Project Minimum Guarantee W9128F25FA142 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Bloomsdale Excavating Company, Incorporated | $3,000 | 6 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Jun 28, 2024 | L-550 Sand Bags Filled, Placed & Removed W9128F24C0024 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Individual contractor (name withheld) | $67,850 | 4 | Competed Small business |
| Jul 21, 2023 | Task Order Missouri River MATOC North Chute W9128F23F0163 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | W A Ellis Construction Co. | $6,469,290 | 4 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Jul 21, 2023 | Minimum Guarantee Missouri River MATOC IDIQ W9128F23F0164 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Bloomsdale Excavating Company, Incorporated | $2,500 | 1 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Jul 21, 2023 | Minimum Guarantee Missouri River MATOC IDIQ W9128F23F0165 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Dubuque Barge and Fleeting Service Co | $2,500 | 1 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Jul 21, 2023 | Minimum Guarantee Missouri River MATOC IDIQ W9128F23F0166 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Cancelled / $0 | Western Contracting Corp | $2,500 | 1 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Sep 27, 2022 | FY22 Bank Stabilization & Navigation Project - North, River Mile 600 to 740, Missouri River, IA, MO, NE W9128F22C0041 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Western Contracting Corp | $15,345,966 | 2 | Competed Small business |
| Sep 27, 2022 | FY22 Bank Stabilization & Navigation Project - South, River Mile 498 to 600, Missouri River, IA, MO, NE W9128F22C0042 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Western Contracting Corp | $16,385,700 | 1 | Competed Small business |
| Sep 26, 2022 | Grave Site Expansion Omaha National Cemetery 36C78622C0066 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | The Povolny Group Inc | $11,950,724 | 3 | Competed Veteran-owned |
| Apr 1, 2022 | Bedrock Maintenance Excavation, Missouri River at Florence Bend Near Omaha, NE W9128F22C0012 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Fenton Construction Inc | $7,773,226 | 4 | Competed Small business |
| Jan 28, 2022 | Lake Missouri River RB Levee PSL W9128F22C0011 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Keu Inc | $3,479,725 | 9 | Competed Small business |
| Sep 28, 2021 | Island Bank Stabilization, Missouri River Mile 674, Harrison County IA W9128F21C0060 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Western Contracting Corp | $1,356,000 | 2 | Competed Small business |
| Sep 24, 2021 | Demolition and Site Preparation W9128F21C0059 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Medvolt Construction Services, LLC | $54,480,536 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Sep 7, 2021 | FY21 Missouri River Bank Stabilization & Navigation Project Repair Structures RM (611 to 498) Missouri River, IA, MO, NE W9128F21C0047 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Western Contracting Corp | $10,359,564 | 4 | Competed Small business |
| Jun 22, 2021 | Council Bluffs Levee Protection W9128F21C0034 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Youngs General Contracting Inc | $6,486,126 | 5 | Competed Small business |
| Oct 22, 2020 | Waterloo Levee PSL W9128F21C0002 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Pruss Excavation Co | $1,342,705 | 3 | Competed Small business |
Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders.
Who won
Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.
| # | Company | Awards | Total value at award |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Western Contracting Corp | 5 | $46,066,950 |
| 2 | W A Ellis Construction Co. | 2 | $6,472,290 |
| 3 | Bloomsdale Excavating Company, Incorporated | 2 | $5,500 |
| 4 | Dubuque Barge and Fleeting Service Co | 2 | $5,500 |
| 5 | Medvolt Construction Services, LLC | 1 | $54,480,536 |
| 6 | The Povolny Group Inc | 1 | $11,950,724 |
| 7 | Fenton Construction Inc | 1 | $7,773,226 |
| 8 | Youngs General Contracting Inc | 1 | $6,486,126 |
| 9 | Keu Inc | 1 | $3,479,725 |
| 10 | Pruss Excavation Co | 1 | $1,342,705 |
How the work was bought
Competition
Was the work open to bids?
- Competed 10 (53%)
A standalone contract that was open to bids.
- Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 8 (42%)
A task order placed under an IDIQ held by several companies, who competed for it.
- Not competed 1 (5%)
Sole-source: only one company was asked.
Set-asides
Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.
- Small business 17 (89%)
Only small businesses could bid.
- Veteran-owned 1 (5%)
Reserved for service-disabled veteran-owned (SDVOSB) or veteran-owned (VOSB) small businesses.
- Open to all 1 (5%)
No set-aside: any size of business could bid.
Left out of the numbers above: 1 cancelled or $0 award. Why?
Contracting offices buying here
Umbrella contracts used here
Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.
| Contract | Type | Orders | Ordering ends |
|---|---|---|---|
| W9128F23D0039 | Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 5 offers | 1 | Jul 20, 2028 |
| W9128F23D0040 | Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 5 offers | 1 | Jul 20, 2028 |
| W9128F23D0041 | Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 5 offers | 1 | Jul 20, 2028 |
| W9128F25DA018 | Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 6 offers | 1 | Aug 26, 2030 |
| W9128F25DA019 | Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 6 offers | 1 | Aug 26, 2030 |
Other trades in this area
Report an error on this page
Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.