Base or VA center · District of Columbia

Building Construction contracts at Naval Research Laboratory

Also called: NRL

Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Jul 13, 2026. Data status

Open Building Construction bids here now

No open Building Construction bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search

Typical award (median)

$1,625,157

The middle of 24 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $900k and $3M.

Typical number of bids

4

Median bids per award, reported for 6 of 6 competed awards.

Won by small businesses

96%

Share of the 24 priced awards.

Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.

What this means

  • The middle building construction award at Naval Research Laboratory was $1.6M (FY2021-FY2025, 24 priced awards).
  • That is 11.0 times the median for building construction in the District of Columbia ($147k).
  • Competed awards drew a median of 4 offers (reported for 6 of 6).
  • Small businesses won 96% of priced awards.
  • The top 3 winners took 33% of priced awards.
  • Tip 58% of these awards were task orders under single-award contracts (IDIQs). Only the company holding that contract could get them, so watch for the umbrella contract to be re-bid.
  • Tip 79% of awards with a reported set-aside were reserved for small businesses, so small firms were not bidding against large companies.

FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist

Get alerts for new building construction work near Naval Research Laboratory

  • Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
  • Deadline and amendment alerts
  • Recompete radar
  • Plain-English bid summaries
  • Competitor tracking
  • Unlimited saved searches

Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing

Your sign-up did not go through. Please check your email and ZIP code and try again. The spam check needs JavaScript turned on.

Add your company (optional)

We only email you about the launch. Delete your details any time.

Awards per year

Column chart of awards per fiscal year, FY2016 to FY2026. FY2025, the latest full year: 5 awards. Most in one year: 20 awards in FY2016. FY2026 is still being reported. 0 5 10 15 20 2016 ’16 2017 ’17 2018 ’18 2019 ’19 2020 ’20 2021 ’21 2022 ’22 2023 ’23 2024 ’24 2025 ’25 2026 ’26
  • FY2025, the latest full year: 5 awards
  • FY2026 is still being reported
Federal fiscal years run October to September.
Show the numbers
YearAwardsMedian award
FY2016 20 $84,843
FY2017 12 $1,626,948
FY2018 19 $431,431
FY2019 15 $412,996
FY2020 16 $422,423
FY2021 5 $1,480,814
FY2022 3 –
FY2023 3 –
FY2024 8 $872,512
FY2025 5 $1,057,614
FY2026 (provisional) 0 –

Award sizes

Bar chart of priced awards FY2021–FY2025 by size. The most common size was $1M to $5M (13 awards). The median award, $1,625,157, is in the $1M to $5M band. Under $25k 2 $25k to $250k 2 $250k to $1M 3 $1M to $5M 13 $5M to $25M 4 Over $25M 0
  • Holds the median award, $1,625,157
Priced awards FY2021–FY2025, by value at award.

Recent awards

The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.

Project How it was awarded
Jul 17, 2026 The Project Is for a Firm-Fixed Price (FFP) Construction Project at the Naval Research Laboratory in Washington, DC. W912DR26FA176 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Value after changes Belt Built CFM Joint Venture, LLC $5,860,944 after changes 6 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 26, 2025 B201 B28, and B104 - NAVSEA Replace Elevator Equipment N4008025F1319 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Desbuild Eg Management Services JV LLC $5,648,955 51 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 12, 2025 NRL-42 Replace Fire Alarm System N4008025F0328 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Etolin Strait Associates LLC $1,057,614 21 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Jul 29, 2025 Chiller #5 Replacement, Building A-47, Washington D.C. W912DR25F0193 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Hsu Development, Inc. $2,028,493 4 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Open to all
Jul 24, 2025 Replace Eight Broken Insulated Window and Repair Leaking Windows on the North and Northwest Facades of Located at WNY-197. N4008025F1084 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Etolin Strait Associates LLC $99,201 21 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Jun 20, 2025 Install Canopy Roof per Provided As-Built Drawings and Selected Manufacturer Design/Specifications; Reuse Existing Canopy Columns and Footers; Weekend Work Only (Off-Hours); Lead Time Accounted for Canopy Parts (10-12 Weeks). N4008025F0029 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Etolin Strait Associates LLC $57,621 21 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Sep 25, 2024 NRL-Base-Wide Door Repair/Replacement N4008024F5048 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Innovative Mechanical Contractors LLC $650,852 14 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Aug 8, 2024 X006 NRL 35 Replace Secondary Unit Substation T-54 N4008024F4721 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Doyon Management Services, LLC $2,531,249 41 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Jul 2, 2024 NRL-82 Repair/Replace Fire Alarm & Suppression System (FY24) N4008024F4504 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Westerly Hsu JV II, LLC $927,791 41 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Jul 2, 2024 Replace NRL Feeder F69 N4008024F4544 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Etolin Strait Partners, LLC $16,480 11 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Jun 7, 2024 Repair Door Not Working Properly. N0017324P5425 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Johnson Controls, Inc $903 1 Not competed Open to all
Apr 3, 2024 X003 NRL-2 Replace Transformer T-101 and Switchgear (PW 6557) N4008024F4193 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Doyon Management Services, LLC $3,206,941 41 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Mar 20, 2024 X004 NRL-72 Replace HVAC per 2019 Study from Summer Consultants N4008024F4176 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Westerly Hsu JV II, LLC $817,233 41 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Mar 12, 2024 Naval Research Lab Window Replacement in Washington, DC W912DR24C0007 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Sandhurst-Aec, LLC $1,957,965 1 Not competed 8(a)
Sep 29, 2023 Base Bid Price for the for the Renovation Work Includes Services to Construct a Clean Room Laboratory and Incidental Related Work at Naval Research Laboratory Compound Semiconductor Production Facility, Washington, DC N4008023F5063 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Tuckman-Barbee Construction Co., Inc. $19,327,000 4 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 23, 2023 8 MACC Base Year N4008023F4981 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Westerly Hsu JV II, LLC $6,093,008 41 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Sep 7, 2023 X004 NRL-A47 & 29 Replace Roof - Construction N4008023F4767 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Aleut Construction LLC $1,396,604 41 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Oct 18, 2022 Power Box with UPS N0017323P1012 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Equipment purchase Vinci Construction Uk Limited $27,975 1 Competed Open to all
Sep 19, 2022 X019 NRL-209 Replace Elevators 1 and 2. N4008022F4943 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Intercontinental Construction Contracting Inc $2,866,311 2 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) HUBZone
Aug 10, 2022 X007 NRL-83 Renovate Building N4008022F4469 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Tuckman-Barbee Construction Co., Inc. $2,300,000 6 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) HUBZone
Jun 24, 2022 NRL Chiller Upgrades, Washington, D.C. W912DR22C0031 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Sandow Construction Inc $3,948,415 1 Not competed Open to all
Sep 30, 2021 Naval Research Laboratory Small Projects, Washington, DC W912DR21C0054 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Cci General Contractors, LLC $1,370,220 1 Not competed 8(a)
Sep 27, 2021 X003 NRL-43 Replace Windows on East Side of Building N4008021F5146 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Biscayne Contractors, Inc $1,134,224 51 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 27, 2021 X005 NRL-A59 Replace Transformer T-160 and Switchgear N4008021F5199 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) G-W Management Services, LLC $1,769,500 5 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 7, 2021 NRL-A49/97 Update Fire Alarm System-PW 6007 (DB) N4008021F4979 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ R.L. Hueston, LLC $1,480,814 1 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a)

Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders. After changes = the original award value was not reported, so the value shown includes later changes; such awards are left out of price statistics.

Who won

Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.

#CompanyAwardsTotal value at award
1 Westerly Hsu JV II, LLC 3 $7,838,032
2 Etolin Strait Associates LLC 3 $1,214,436
3 Tuckman-Barbee Construction Co., Inc. 2 $21,627,000
4 Doyon Management Services, LLC 2 $5,738,190
5 Doyon Project Services, LLC 1 $10,222,080
6 Desbuild Eg Management Services JV LLC 1 $5,648,955
7 Sandow Construction Inc 1 $3,948,415
8 Intercontinental Construction Contracting Inc 1 $2,866,311
9 Hsu Development, Inc. 1 $2,028,493
10 Sandhurst-Aec, LLC 1 $1,957,965

How the work was bought

Competition

Was the work open to bids?

  • Order (single-award IDIQ) 14 (58%)

    A task order under an IDIQ held by one company. No new competition, so it is left out of bid statistics.

  • Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 6 (25%)

    A task order placed under an IDIQ held by several companies, who competed for it.

  • Not competed 4 (17%)

    Sole-source: only one company was asked.

Set-asides

Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.

  • 8(a) 13 (54%)

    Reserved for firms in SBA's 8(a) program for disadvantaged small businesses.

  • Open to all 5 (21%)

    No set-aside: any size of business could bid.

  • Small business 4 (17%)

    Only small businesses could bid.

  • HUBZone 2 (8%)

    Reserved for small businesses in a Historically Underutilized Business Zone.

Left out of the numbers above: 1 equipment purchase. Why?

Umbrella contracts used here

Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.

Contract Type Orders Ordering ends
N4008022D1118 Single-award The IDIQ drew 41 offers 3 Sep 29, 2030
N4008024D0016 Single-award The IDIQ drew 21 offers 3 Sep 24, 2029
N4008022D1117 Single-award The IDIQ drew 41 offers 2 Sep 29, 2030
N4008019D0007 Single-award The IDIQ drew 11 offers 1 Sep 29, 2025
N4008019D0015 Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 54 offers 1 May 12, 2024
Report an error on this page

Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.