Base or VA center · District of Columbia
Naval Research Laboratory: federal construction & facilities contracts
Also called: NRL
Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Jul 13, 2026. Data status
Open bids here now
No open bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search
Typical award (median)
$301,539
The middle of 98 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $25.5k and $1.6M.
Typical number of bids
2
Median bids per award, reported for 12 of 12 competed awards. 33% drew only one bid.
Won by small businesses
74%
Share of the 98 priced awards.
Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.
What this means
- The middle construction & facilities award at Naval Research Laboratory was $302k (FY2021-FY2025, 98 priced awards).
- That is 7.1 times the median for all construction & facilities work in the District of Columbia ($42.3k).
- Competed awards drew a median of 2 offers (reported for 12 of 12).
- 33% of competed awards drew only one offer.
- In FY2025 the middle award was $237k, down 51% from FY2024 ($480k).
- Tip 69% of these awards were task orders under single-award contracts (IDIQs). Only the company holding that contract could get them, so watch for the umbrella contract to be re-bid.
- Tip 61% of awards with a reported set-aside were reserved for small businesses, so small firms were not bidding against large companies.
FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist
Get alerts for new facilities support work near Naval Research Laboratory
- Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
- Deadline and amendment alerts
- Recompete radar
- Plain-English bid summaries
- Competitor tracking
- Unlimited saved searches
Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing
Awards per year
- FY2025, the latest full year: 20 awards
- FY2026 is still being reported
Show the numbers
| Year | Awards | Median award |
|---|---|---|
| FY2016 | 133 | $16,895 |
| FY2017 | 41 | $39,758 |
| FY2018 | 52 | $82,150 |
| FY2019 | 76 | $57,891 |
| FY2020 | 64 | $38,512 |
| FY2021 | 22 | $111,320 |
| FY2022 | 14 | $549,918 |
| FY2023 | 18 | $327,907 |
| FY2024 | 24 | $479,757 |
| FY2025 | 20 | $237,349 |
| FY2026 (provisional) | 4 | – |
Award sizes
- Holds the median award, $301,539
Recent awards
The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.
| Project | How it was awarded | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 17, 2026 | The Project Is for a Firm-Fixed Price (FFP) Construction Project at the Naval Research Laboratory in Washington, DC. W912DR26FA176 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Value after changes | Belt Built CFM Joint Venture, LLC | $5,860,944 after changes | 6 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Jun 2, 2026 | Edison and Stone Base Restoration N0017326P5822 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Versar, Inc. | $48,000 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| May 26, 2026 | Repair Damage Grounds N0017326P1513 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Dsa, LLC | $6,662 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Feb 6, 2026 | HVAC Maintenance Agreement N0017326P1813 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Horizon Mechanical Services LLC | $18,552 | 5 | Competed Small business |
| Nov 18, 2025 | CCTV Camera Upgrade N0017326P1801 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Acme Technical Group LLC | $69,944 | 10 | Competed Small business |
| Sep 30, 2025 | NRL-149 Boiler Plant - Boiler Blow Down Flash Tank N4008025F0529 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Capitol United Solutions Inc | $58,972 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Sep 30, 2025 | NRL-149 Boiler Plant Operator and Emergency Repairs N4008025F0532 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Capitol United Solutions Inc | $1,405,240 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Sep 30, 2025 | FY25 - NRL-149 Second Boiler Rental N4008025F0535 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Capitol United Solutions Inc | $2,266,646 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Sep 29, 2025 | Purchase and Install a New 30HZ Fan Motor for Boiler 3 at Building 149 N4008025F0527 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Capitol United Solutions Inc | $19,889 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Sep 26, 2025 | B201 B28, and B104 - NAVSEA Replace Elevator Equipment N4008025F1319 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Desbuild Eg Management Services JV LLC | $5,648,955 | 51 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Sep 25, 2025 | Deep Clean Carpet BLD 200 N4008025F0252 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Melwood Horticultural Training Center, Inc. | $15,791 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all |
| Sep 23, 2025 | NRL-149 Boiler Rental N4008025F0499 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Capitol United Solutions Inc | $1,973,298 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Sep 12, 2025 | NRL-42 Replace Fire Alarm System N4008025F0328 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Etolin Strait Associates LLC | $1,057,614 | 21 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Sep 3, 2025 | B82 Radiological Support N0017325P1841 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Tidewater, Inc. | $34,120 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Aug 18, 2025 | C-1 Performance Work Statement the Services to Be Performed Shall Be Subject to the Requirements and Standards Contained in Attachment 1 - PWS, and All Other Attachments Cited in Section J, Which Are Incorporated by Reference into Section C. N0017325F2414 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | KBR Wyle Services, LLC | $3,696,178 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all |
| Aug 7, 2025 | Option Year One NRL Recurring Work at NRL Chiller Plant to Keep Operational Sustainability N4008025F0267 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Capitol United Solutions Inc | $372,625 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Jul 29, 2025 | Chiller #5 Replacement, Building A-47, Washington D.C. W912DR25F0193 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Hsu Development, Inc. | $2,028,493 | 4 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Open to all |
| Jul 24, 2025 | Replace Eight Broken Insulated Window and Repair Leaking Windows on the North and Northwest Facades of Located at WNY-197. N4008025F1084 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Etolin Strait Associates LLC | $99,201 | 21 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Jul 7, 2025 | Engineering Services to Assist with Relocation S/N: MI2551373US from Current Location to New Building on the United States Naval Research Laboratory Campus Approximately Half a Mile Away. N0017325P0049 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Tescan USA Inc | $24,600 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Jun 20, 2025 | Install Canopy Roof per Provided As-Built Drawings and Selected Manufacturer Design/Specifications; Reuse Existing Canopy Columns and Footers; Weekend Work Only (Off-Hours); Lead Time Accounted for Canopy Parts (10-12 Weeks). N4008025F0029 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Etolin Strait Associates LLC | $57,621 | 21 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Mar 7, 2025 | Maintenance of office buildings N4008025F0200 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Invicta Global, LLC | $2,016,866 | 6 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Feb 5, 2025 | 1YR Scheduled Maintenance and Repair Contract N0017325P5438 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Abm Facility Support Services, LLC | $8,073 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Dec 20, 2024 | Option Year Four Non-Recurring Work, Temp Steam Line N4008025F0040 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Invicta Global, LLC | $275,839 | 6 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Nov 26, 2024 | One Year HVAC Maintenance Unit 1 CW41 - 3 Ton, Unit 2 in-Row CRV-1, Condenser CRV-1, Unit 3 in-Row CW N0017325P1312 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Abm Facility Support Services, LLC | $5,502 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Oct 3, 2024 | HVAC Maintenance Agreement N0017325P1800 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Brothers Mechanical Services LLC | $198,859 | 1 | Competed Small business |
Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders. After changes = the original award value was not reported, so the value shown includes later changes; such awards are left out of price statistics.
Who won
Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.
| # | Company | Awards | Total value at award |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Invicta Global, LLC | 21 | $30,567,345 |
| 2 | Capital Brand Group LLC | 7 | $2,527,954 |
| 3 | Capitol United Solutions Inc | 6 | $6,096,670 |
| 4 | Melwood Horticultural Training Center, Inc. | 6 | $1,424,636 |
| 5 | Dyncorp International LLC | 6 | $274,000 |
| 6 | Westerly Hsu JV II, LLC | 3 | $7,838,032 |
| 7 | Etolin Strait Associates LLC | 3 | $1,214,436 |
| 8 | Brothers Mechanical Services LLC | 3 | $490,149 |
| 9 | Abm Facility Support Services, LLC | 3 | $20,898 |
| 10 | Tuckman-Barbee Construction Co., Inc. | 2 | $21,627,000 |
How the work was bought
Competition
Was the work open to bids?
- Order (single-award IDIQ) 68 (69%)
A task order under an IDIQ held by one company. No new competition, so it is left out of bid statistics.
- Not competed 18 (18%)
Sole-source: only one company was asked.
- Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 7 (7%)
A task order placed under an IDIQ held by several companies, who competed for it.
- Competed 5 (5%)
A standalone contract that was open to bids.
Set-asides
Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.
- Open to all 38 (39%)
No set-aside: any size of business could bid.
- Small business 30 (31%)
Only small businesses could bid.
- 8(a) 28 (29%)
Reserved for firms in SBA's 8(a) program for disadvantaged small businesses.
- HUBZone 2 (2%)
Reserved for small businesses in a Historically Underutilized Business Zone.
Left out of the numbers above: 12 equipment purchases, 1 cancelled or $0 award. Why?
Contracting offices buying here
Umbrella contracts used here
Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.
| Contract | Type | Orders | Ordering ends |
|---|---|---|---|
| N6247020D0002 | Single-award The IDIQ drew 6 offers | 19 | Jun 15, 2027 |
| N4008022D0004 | Single-award The IDIQ drew 8 offers | 7 | Jan 30, 2027 |
| N6247019D2013 | Single-award The IDIQ drew 6 offers | 7 | Sep 30, 2026 |
| N4008018D0306 | Single-award The IDIQ drew 1 offers | 4 | Feb 28, 2023 |
| N4008022D1118 | Single-award The IDIQ drew 41 offers | 3 | Sep 29, 2030 |
Trades at Naval Research Laboratory
Other bases & VA centers
Report an error on this page
Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.