Metro area
Building Construction contracts in the Huntington, WV area
Also called: Huntington-Ashland, WV-KY-OH
Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Jul 13, 2026. Data status
Open Building Construction bids here now
No open Building Construction bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search
Typical award (median)
$37,515
The middle of 85 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $10.7k and $122k.
Typical number of bids
2
Median bids per award, reported for 35 of 35 competed awards. 26% drew only one bid.
Won by small businesses
100%
Share of the 85 priced awards.
Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.
What this means
- The middle building construction award in the Huntington, WV area was $37.5k (FY2021-FY2025, 85 priced awards).
- That is 53% lower than the median for building construction in West Virginia ($79k).
- Competed awards drew a median of 2 offers (reported for 35 of 35).
- 26% of competed awards drew only one offer.
- In FY2025 the middle award was $39.9k, up 93% from FY2024 ($20.7k).
- Tip 98% of awards with a reported set-aside were reserved for small businesses, so small firms were not bidding against large companies.
- Tip The typical award drew only 2 bids. Less competition can mean a better chance for a new bidder.
FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist
Get alerts for new building construction work in the Huntington, WV area
- Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
- Deadline and amendment alerts
- Recompete radar
- Plain-English bid summaries
- Competitor tracking
- Unlimited saved searches
Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing
Awards per year
- FY2025, the latest full year: 12 awards
- FY2026 is still being reported
Show the numbers
| Year | Awards | Median award |
|---|---|---|
| FY2016 | 19 | $37,043 |
| FY2017 | 15 | $64,730 |
| FY2018 | 22 | $38,537 |
| FY2019 | 31 | $26,020 |
| FY2020 | 21 | $20,781 |
| FY2021 | 24 | $23,604 |
| FY2022 | 20 | $62,089 |
| FY2023 | 15 | $44,800 |
| FY2024 | 14 | $20,688 |
| FY2025 | 12 | $39,918 |
| FY2026 (provisional) | 14 | $40,482 |
Award sizes
- Holds the median award, $37,515
Recent awards
The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.
| Project | How it was awarded | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 7, 2026 | NCO5 MATOC II Construction Contract for Replace BLDG 1W Chillers Huntington VAMC. Modification Implementing New Clause 52.222-90, Addressing DEI Discrimination by Federal Contractors (Apr 2026) 36C24527N0080 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional | Hirt Electric, LLC | $585,400 | 2 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned |
| Sep 15, 2026 | Replace Existing Security System. USACE - Allied Warehouse, Huntington, WV 25701 47PC5126F0470 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Offers from IDIQ | MC Dodd Construction LLC | $9,741 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Sep 10, 2026 | Renovation of Rooms 534 & 535 at the Huntington Federal Building in Huntington, West Virginia for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. 47PC5126F0465 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Offers from IDIQ | MC Dodd Construction LLC | $8,891 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Aug 18, 2026 | Replace Security System for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers at Trust Warehouse in Huntington, WV. Total Dollar Value: $5,147.14. Delivery Date: 09/18/2026 47PC5126F0427 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Offers from IDIQ | MC Dodd Construction LLC | $5,147 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Jul 21, 2026 | EO 14398 the Contractor Is Required to Provide All Labor, Project Management, Materials, Tools, Supplies, and Equipment As Required by Drawings and Specifications to Complete the Necessary Work for Project 581-22-700 EHRM Huntington WV. 36C77626C0061 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Unusually large | Sawtooth Construction JV II LLC | $42,654,579 | 3 | Competed Veteran-owned |
| Jul 15, 2026 | Painting of Stairways at the Huntington Federal Building in Huntington, WV. Period of Performance Is 07/15/26-09/14/26. Total Order Amount Is $35,963.25. 47PC5126F0380 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Offers from IDIQ | MC Dodd Construction LLC | $35,963 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Jun 18, 2026 | Replace Trailer 4 Foundation Supports 581-25-160 Construction Contract 36C24526N0656 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | RLS Construction Group, LLC | $45,000 | 2 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned |
| Jun 11, 2026 | Replace the Canteen Flooring and Paint the Canteen and Lobby Area. Huntington Fed BLG Huntington, WV 47PC5126F0304 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | MC Dodd Construction LLC | $31,721 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Jun 10, 2026 | Relocate Equipment for US Army Corps of Engineers at the Huntington Federal Building in Huntington, WV. Total Order Amount Is $5,548.92. Period of Performance Is 06/10/2026 to 08/10/2026. 47PC5126F0322 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | MC Dodd Construction LLC | $5,549 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| May 12, 2026 | Routine Maintenance at Lake Vesuvius Revealed Debris the Cast Iron Slide Gate, Preventing Full Closure and Requiring the Lake to Be Drawn Down. After Debris Removal, the Gate Continued Leaking Due Wedges. Additional Issues 12445526F0054 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | D.J. Group Inc | $62,464 | 3 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| May 7, 2026 | NCO5 MATOC II Construction Contract for Halls and Walls Project 581-25-170 36C24526N0493 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | RLS Construction Group, LLC | $762,720 | 3 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned |
| Mar 11, 2026 | Incorporates MC Proposal, Dated 3/2/26, for Upgrading Fan Coil Units, and Lighting, at the Sidney L. Christie Building in Huntington, WV. 47PC5126F0142 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | MC Dodd Construction LLC | $188,948 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Feb 18, 2026 | Conference Room 241 Renovation at the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Office in Huntington, WV. Total Dollar Value Is $13,409.09. Period of Performance 02/19/2026 to 04/20/2026. 47PC5126F0119 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | MC Dodd Construction LLC | $13,409 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Feb 5, 2026 | Multiple Award Task Order Contracts for Construction Services Located in MD, DC and WV Add BAA and TAA Clauses 36C24526N0296 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Kar Contracting LLC | $55,000 | 1 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned |
| Nov 3, 2025 | Renovate BLDG 1S 36C24526N0083 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Kar Contracting LLC | $15,829,560 | 1 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned |
| Aug 21, 2025 | NCO 5 MATOC II 36C24525N0913 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Kar Contracting LLC | $51,480 | 2 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned |
| Aug 1, 2025 | Construction Contract for Emergent Parking Garage Repairs Huntington VAMC 581-25-260 36C24525N0855 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Hamilton Pacific Chamberlain LLC | $2,245,830 | 3 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned |
| Jul 18, 2025 | Emergency Water Leak at ER Entrance 36C24525N0847 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Kar Contracting LLC | $12,737 | 1 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned |
| Apr 3, 2025 | Replace Coils in Fan Coil Units in BLDG 4 36C24525P0463 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | District Veterans Contracting, Inc. | $11,902 | 1 | Not competed Veteran-owned |
| Mar 28, 2025 | Installation of Bottle Filling Station at Christie Federal Building in Huntington, WV. Period of Performance Is 03/28/2025-05/27/2025. Task Order Amount Is $8,483.72. 47PD1025F0073 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | MC Dodd Construction LLC | $8,484 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Mar 7, 2025 | Build Emergency Parking 36C24525C0074 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Kar Contracting LLC | $417,478 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Mar 4, 2025 | USACE Room 537 Conference Room Renovation Project, Huntington Federal Building, Huntington, WV 25701, Corps of Engineers, Civil, Period of Performance 3/4/25 to 5/5/25, Task Order Value $50,285.99 47PD1025F0061 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | MC Dodd Construction LLC | $50,286 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Feb 20, 2025 | Replace Vanity and Mirror in Bankruptcy Chambers Project, Sidney L Christie FB, Huntington, WV 25701, the Judiciary, Period of Performance 2/20/25 to 6/20/25, Total Task Order Value $3,163.07 47PD1025F0058 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | MC Dodd Construction LLC | $3,163 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Feb 11, 2025 | Paint Area and Upgrade Lighting for U.S. Courts at the Huntington Federal Building in Huntington, WV. Period of Performance Is 01/20/25-05/12/25. Order Amount Is $29,550.94. 47PD1025F0052 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | MC Dodd Construction LLC | $29,551 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
| Feb 6, 2025 | Huntington Federal Building, Huntington, WV. Paint Existing Wall of Room 404, Small Office and Kitchenette Area Existing Cabinets. Period of Performance Is 02/06/2025 - 04/07/2025. Task Order Amount Is $9,661.77. 47PD1025F0051 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | MC Dodd Construction LLC | $9,662 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a) |
Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders.
Who won
Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.
| # | Company | Awards | Total value at award |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | MC Dodd Construction LLC | 31 | $1,533,254 |
| 2 | Kar Contracting LLC | 21 | $12,347,574 |
| 3 | District Veterans Contracting, Inc. | 13 | $8,947,294 |
| 4 | Wright Bros LLC | 13 | $1,015,775 |
| 5 | National Contracting Services, LLC | 3 | $90,528 |
| 6 | Hamilton Pacific Chamberlain LLC | 1 | $2,245,830 |
| 7 | Mgi, Inc. | 1 | $79,831 |
| 8 | Cornerstone Construction Services, LLC | 1 | $28,666 |
| 9 | D.J. Group Inc | 1 | $18,900 |
How the work was bought
Competition
Was the work open to bids?
- Order (single-award IDIQ) 37 (44%)
A task order under an IDIQ held by one company. No new competition, so it is left out of bid statistics.
- Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 30 (35%)
A task order placed under an IDIQ held by several companies, who competed for it.
- Not competed 13 (15%)
Sole-source: only one company was asked.
- Competed 5 (6%)
A standalone contract that was open to bids.
Set-asides
Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.
- 8(a) 35 (41%)
Reserved for firms in SBA's 8(a) program for disadvantaged small businesses.
- Veteran-owned 35 (41%)
Reserved for service-disabled veteran-owned (SDVOSB) or veteran-owned (VOSB) small businesses.
- Small business 13 (15%)
Only small businesses could bid.
- Open to all 2 (2%)
No set-aside: any size of business could bid.
Umbrella contracts used here
Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.
| Contract | Type | Orders | Ordering ends |
|---|---|---|---|
| 47PD0123D0004 | Single-award The IDIQ drew 1 offers | 22 | May 14, 2028 |
| 36C24518D0153 | Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 17 offers | 15 | Sep 25, 2023 |
| 47PD0218D0004 | Single-award The IDIQ drew 6 offers | 11 | Sep 23, 2022 |
| 36C24518D0147 | Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 7 offers | 8 | Sep 25, 2023 |
| 47PE0121D0001 | Single-award The IDIQ drew 1 offers | 3 | Nov 30, 2024 |
Contracts ending soon
Recurring work whose current contract ends within 18 months, so the agency will likely buy it again (a "recompete"). The company doing it today is the incumbent.
-
Ordering period ends Mar 29, 2027
Federal Supply Schedule Contract.
Incumbent: Crawford Consulting Services, Inc. Buyer: 47QRAA
GS10F0252Y on USAspending (opens in a new tab)
Other trades in this area
Nearby
- Building Construction at VA Huntington
- Building Construction in the Charleston, WV area
- Building Construction in the Chillicothe, OH area
- Building Construction in the Beckley, WV area
- Building Construction in the Bluefield, WV area
- Building Construction in the Lexington, KY area
- Building Construction in the Richmond, KY area
- Building Construction in the Columbus, OH area
- Building Construction in the Cincinnati, OH area
Report an error on this page
Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.