Metro area

Federal construction & facilities contracts in the Marion, IL area

Also called: Marion-Herrin, IL

Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Jul 13, 2026. Data status

Open bids here now (3)

See them on the map Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Free, no sign-up.

No open bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search

Typical award (median)

$233,496

The middle of 62 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $38.5k and $832k.

Typical number of bids

3

Median bids per award, reported for 29 of 29 competed awards. 21% drew only one bid.

Won by small businesses

86%

Share of the 62 priced awards.

Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.

What this means

  • The middle construction & facilities award in the Marion, IL area was $233k (FY2021-FY2025, 62 priced awards).
  • That is 6.4 times the median for all construction & facilities work in Illinois ($36.5k).
  • Competed awards drew a median of 3 offers (reported for 29 of 29).
  • 21% of competed awards drew only one offer.
  • Small businesses won 86% of priced awards.
  • Tip 79% of awards with a reported set-aside were reserved for small businesses, so small firms were not bidding against large companies.

FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist

Get alerts for new building construction work in the Marion, IL area

  • Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
  • Deadline and amendment alerts
  • Recompete radar
  • Plain-English bid summaries
  • Competitor tracking
  • Unlimited saved searches

Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing

Your sign-up did not go through. Please check your email and ZIP code and try again. The spam check needs JavaScript turned on.

Add your company (optional)

We only email you about the launch. Delete your details any time.

Awards per year

Column chart of awards per fiscal year, FY2016 to FY2026. FY2025, the latest full year: 9 awards. Most in one year: 22 awards in FY2021. FY2026 is still being reported. 0 5 10 15 20 25 2016 ’16 2017 ’17 2018 ’18 2019 ’19 2020 ’20 22 2021 ’21 2022 ’22 2023 ’23 2024 ’24 9 2025 ’25 2026 ’26
  • FY2025, the latest full year: 9 awards
  • FY2026 is still being reported
Federal fiscal years run October to September.
Show the numbers
YearAwardsMedian award
FY2016 13 $73,884
FY2017 11 $36,953
FY2018 11 $677,000
FY2019 6 $27,291
FY2020 11 $99,132
FY2021 22 $499,388
FY2022 7 $366,278
FY2023 16 $223,120
FY2024 8 $197,372
FY2025 9 $30,531
FY2026 (provisional) 19 $145,719

Award sizes

Bar chart of priced awards FY2021–FY2025 by size. The most common size was $25k to $250k (21 awards). The median award, $233,496, is in the $25k to $250k band. Under $25k 11 $25k to $250k 21 $250k to $1M 16 $1M to $5M 9 $5M to $25M 4 Over $25M 1
  • Holds the median award, $233,496
Priced awards FY2021–FY2025, by value at award.

Recent awards

The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.

Project How it was awarded
Sep 18, 2026 Construct New Campus Energy Center 36C25526C0077 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Smith Hafeli Inc $22,000,000 3 Competed Veteran-owned
Sep 14, 2026 Electrical Call Order VISN 15 36C10F26N0047 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Enviros LLC $811,928 5 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned
Sep 1, 2026 Replacement of Valve 36C25526P0200 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional J 3 Contracting, LLC $13,750 1 Not competed Open to all
Aug 14, 2026 Exercise 52.217-8 for Three Months 36C25526N0339 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Offers from IDIQ Siemens Industry Inc $13,083 1 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ)
Aug 7, 2026 B&F - FCI Marion - Replace Sum Boiler #2 - 25Z4AF3 EO 14398 15BBNF26C40900002 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Supplied Industrial Solutions, Inc. $341,481 4 Competed Open to all
Aug 4, 2026 EO 14398 USP Marion Electrical Upgrade - USP and SPC Project 26Z4AS8 15BBNF26C40900001 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Unusually large Goldbelt Government Services, LLC $11,467,881 1 Not competed 8(a)
Jul 9, 2026 EO 14398 - Replace Air Handling Unit in Building 1 36C25526C0054 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Jett's Specialty Contracting, LLC $4,796,707 4 Competed Veteran-owned
Jul 7, 2026 FY26 P1 S&W Line DK Fire Suppression Repair Jul 26 Emergency Fire Suppression Repair 15B40926P00000168 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) S & W Line Contracting L.L.C. $14,925 3 Competed Small business
Jun 8, 2026 IL Crab Orchard NWR HVAC Service BPA Call: #6 EO 14398 - This Requirement Is for Support Services for Crab Orchard NWR 140FS226F0088 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) HSG Mechanical Contractors Inc $4,500 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business
May 19, 2026 Job Order Contract for Marion VAMC Marion, IL 36C25526N0185 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Smith Hafeli Inc $175,534 4 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned
May 1, 2026 Fire Extinguisher Inspection and Testing Marion VAMC Location 36C25526N0198 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ First Line Fire Extinguisher Co $23,646 2 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business
Apr 3, 2026 Job Order Contract for Marion VAMC Marion, IL 36C25526N0236 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Smith Hafeli Inc $496,943 4 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned
Mar 10, 2026 The Selected Contractor Shall Provide All Materials, Labor, and Equipment to Replace High Mast Light #4 at the Federal Correctional Institution (FCI), Located in Marion, Illinois, in Accordance with the Attached Specifications. 15BBNF26C00000036 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Brown Electric, Inc $74,802 5 Competed Small business
Mar 4, 2026 657A5-25-103, Repair EIFS on Various Campus Buildings 36C25526N0170 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Smith Hafeli Inc $418,173 4 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned
Feb 24, 2026 Transfer Switch Replacement 36C25526P0102 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Brown Electric, Inc $8,764 1 Not competed Open to all
Feb 13, 2026 Job Order Contract for Marion VAMC Marion, IL 36C25526N0154 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Smith Hafeli Inc $145,719 4 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned
Dec 15, 2025 IL - Crab Orchard NWR - BPA Call Order #04 - Preventive Maintenance and Servicing 140FS226F0010 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) HSG Mechanical Contractors Inc $4,500 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Dec 3, 2025 Job Order Contract for Marion VAMC Marion, IL 36C25526N0078 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Smith Hafeli Inc $255,970 4 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned
Oct 24, 2025 B&F - FCI Marion - Repair Cooler - 25Z4AC7 15BBNF26P00000003 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) M&H United LLC $35,260 7 Competed Small business
Sep 5, 2025 IL Crab Orchard NWR BPA Call - Visitor Center HVAC System Repair - Urgent 140FS225F0185 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) HSG Mechanical Contractors Inc $4,135 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business
Aug 14, 2025 Coil Replacement 36C25525P0431 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Southern Illinois Piping Contractors Inc $30,531 1 Not competed Open to all
Aug 13, 2025 Construction 36C25525C0048 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Jett's Specialty Contracting, LLC $1,307,501 3 Competed Veteran-owned
Jul 21, 2025 IL Crab Orchard NWR HVAC Service BPA Call 140FS225F0153 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) HSG Mechanical Contractors Inc $4,500 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business
Jul 2, 2025 Fund OY IV 36C25525N0339 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Siemens Industry Inc $52,336 1 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ)
May 20, 2025 Emergency: Provide and Install Micro-Board 36C25525P0301 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Johnson Controls, Inc $12,400 1 Not competed Open to all

Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders.

Who won

Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.

#CompanyAwardsTotal value at award
1 Smith Hafeli Inc 19 $25,173,151
2 Siemens Industry Inc 7 $976,618
3 RB Construction Company 3 $2,590,772
4 HSG Mechanical Contractors Inc 3 $11,535
5 Utility Systems Solutions, Inc. 2 $1,124,636
6 WFV 2 Construction LLC 2 $1,051,398
7 Lake Contracting, Inc. 2 $1,045,486
8 Southern Illinois Piping Contractors Inc 2 $52,931
9 Smith Hafeli-Poettker Joint Venture, LLC 1 $26,680,000
10 Valiant Construction LLC 1 $15,827,565

How the work was bought

Competition

Was the work open to bids?

  • Order (single-award IDIQ) 26 (42%)

    A task order under an IDIQ held by one company. No new competition, so it is left out of bid statistics.

  • Competed 23 (37%)

    A standalone contract that was open to bids.

  • Not competed 7 (11%)

    Sole-source: only one company was asked.

  • Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 6 (10%)

    A task order placed under an IDIQ held by several companies, who competed for it.

Set-asides

Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.

  • Veteran-owned 33 (53%)

    Reserved for service-disabled veteran-owned (SDVOSB) or veteran-owned (VOSB) small businesses.

  • Small business 13 (21%)

    Only small businesses could bid.

  • Open to all 12 (19%)

    No set-aside: any size of business could bid.

  • Not reported 4 (6%)

    The agency did not report a set-aside.

Left out of the numbers above: 4 equipment purchases. Why?

Umbrella contracts used here

Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.

Contract Type Orders Ordering ends
36C25520D0004 Single-award The IDIQ drew 1 offers 12 Oct 8, 2024
36C25521A0040 Single-award The IDIQ drew 1 offers 4 Nov 30, 2026
140FS225A0001 Single-award 3 Oct 1, 2029
140F0822D0100 Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 139 offers 2 Jun 30, 2027
36C25518D0046 Single-award The IDIQ drew 5 offers 2 Feb 8, 2023

Contracts ending soon

Recurring work whose current contract ends within 18 months, so the agency will likely buy it again (a "recompete"). The company doing it today is the incumbent.

1 more contract ends in the next 18 months. The full recompete radar is part of FedComps Pro (coming soon).

Join the free waitlist
Report an error on this page

Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.