Base or VA center · Maryland
Fort Detrick: federal construction & facilities contracts
Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Jul 13, 2026. Data status
Open bids here now
No open bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search
Typical award (median)
$531,044
The middle of 58 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $157k and $1.6M.
Typical number of bids
3
Median bids per award, reported for 22 of 22 competed awards. 23% drew only one bid.
Won by small businesses
76%
Share of the 58 priced awards.
Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.
What this means
- The middle construction & facilities award at Fort Detrick was $531k (FY2021-FY2025, 58 priced awards).
- That is 8.3 times the median for all construction & facilities work in Maryland ($64k).
- Competed awards drew a median of 3 offers (reported for 22 of 22).
- 23% of competed awards drew only one offer.
- Small businesses won 76% of priced awards.
- Tip 50% of awards with a reported set-aside were reserved for small businesses, so small firms were not bidding against large companies.
FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist
Get alerts for new HVAC & plumbing work near Fort Detrick
- Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
- Deadline and amendment alerts
- Recompete radar
- Plain-English bid summaries
- Competitor tracking
- Unlimited saved searches
Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing
Awards per year
- FY2025, the latest full year: 9 awards
- FY2026 is still being reported
Show the numbers
| Year | Awards | Median award |
|---|---|---|
| FY2016 | 27 | $391,674 |
| FY2017 | 42 | $175,585 |
| FY2018 | 30 | $158,580 |
| FY2019 | 22 | $157,565 |
| FY2020 | 10 | $225,017 |
| FY2021 | 12 | $396,918 |
| FY2022 | 15 | $379,500 |
| FY2023 | 13 | $1,252,969 |
| FY2024 | 9 | $691,771 |
| FY2025 | 9 | $982,275 |
| FY2026 (provisional) | 1 | – |
Award sizes
- Holds the median award, $531,044
Recent awards
The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.
| Project | How it was awarded | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 1, 2026 | US Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases - Legacy Building 1425 W9127826FA200 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Facility Services Management, Inc. | $7,987,610 | 3 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Open to all |
| Sep 30, 2025 | The Objective of This Requirement Is to Replace the Existing HVAC Equipment Which Entails Replacing the Air-Cooled Chiller, Fan Coil Units, As Well As the Makeup Air Unit. W91QV125CA088 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Pinnacle Software Consulting, Inc. | $1,990,276 | 1 | Not competed 8(a) |
| Sep 29, 2025 | The Objective of This Requirement Is to Install an Automatic Circuit Recloser (ACR) System for Fort Detrick 34.5KV Utility System. W91QV125CA094 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Individual contractor (name withheld) | $982,275 | 1 | Not competed 8(a) |
| Sep 29, 2025 | The Objective Is to Replace the Current Multi-Split System and Any Associated Systems As Well As Adding Six (6) Additional Spaces to the System. W91QV125CA102 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Forus Contracting, Inc. | $1,702,512 | 1 | Not competed 8(a) |
| Sep 26, 2025 | W31RY052674362 W912DY25FA274 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Seven Generations Architecture & Engineering LLC | $489,934 | 5 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Sep 25, 2025 | Design and Restore the Building Envelope and Glazed Assemblies of the Building to Achieve a Watertight and Airtight Exterior. Repair and Renew Interior of Building, Including Laboratory and Administrative Spaces. W912DY25FA253 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | J & J Maintenance Inc | $13,634,772 | 3 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Open to all |
| Sep 5, 2025 | 7/10/25 302D Signal Battalion - Period of Performance: 01 Jul 2025 - 30 Nov 2025 Arts # 007021302250066505 ITAS Waiver#20250415277153 the Gateway Telecommunications Center Uninterruptable Power System (UPS) W91RUS25PA050 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Caci Idt, LLC | $54,143 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Aug 20, 2025 | W31RY052030619 W912DY25FA096 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Seven Generations Architecture & Engineering LLC | $489,934 | 5 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Mar 31, 2025 | Design-Build Fit Out for the Steam Sterilization Plant W912DR25FA017 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Unusually large Approx. location | Grunley Construction Co., Inc. | $38,212,000 | 1 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Open to all |
| Feb 20, 2025 | Corrective Maintenance -Service Orders W912DY25F0098 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Low Voltage Wiring Ltd | $250,000 | 1 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Sep 25, 2024 | Ft. Detrick BLDG. 1776 HVAC Replacement W91QV124C0095 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Washington Office Interiors LLC | $1,859,270 | 1 | Not competed 8(a) |
| Aug 14, 2024 | Building 693 Lobby Improvements, Fort Detrick, MD W912DR24C0028 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | LG Construction Inc | $94,539 | 1 | Not competed 8(a) |
| Jul 22, 2024 | O&M with Repair and Minor Construction, Various Locations W9127824C0038 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Valiant Government Services LLC | $21,913,881 | 3 | Competed Open to all |
| May 22, 2024 | B1668 Repair Lighting Inverter, Fort Detrick W91QV124C0040 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Sustainable Facilities Management Services, LLC | $122,576 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| May 21, 2024 | Signal Security Lighting W91QV124C0033 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Sustainable Facilities Management Services, LLC | $132,431 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| May 20, 2024 | 1667 Boiler Replacement W91QV124C0037 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Holmes Mechanical Contractors, LLC | $353,477 | 1 | Not competed 8(a) |
| Feb 22, 2024 | Perform O&M and Minor Construction W9127824C0020 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Valiant Government Services LLC | $2,445,020 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Feb 16, 2024 | O&M with Repair and Minor Construction, Various Locations W9127824C0014 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | J & J Maintenance Inc | $20,744,196 | 4 | Competed Open to all |
| Feb 5, 2024 | O&M with Repair - Bridge Contract (2 Weeks) W9127824C0017 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Valiant Government Services LLC | $691,771 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Sep 28, 2023 | Type K- Repair Work W9127823F0463 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | J & J Maintenance Inc | $2,156,760 | 3 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Open to all |
| Sep 28, 2023 | Building 1054 Repair by Replacement Fire Alarm System, U.S. Army Medical Research and Development Command, Ft Detrick, MD 21702 W9127823F0475 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Individual contractor (name withheld) | $1,252,969 | 5 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Open to all |
| Sep 28, 2023 | Building 8100 Motor Upgrade at Fort Detrick, Maryland W912DR23C0062 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Cheroenhaka Nottoway Enterprises, LLC | $1,293,454 | 1 | Not competed 8(a) |
| Sep 27, 2023 | Type K - Repair Work Roof Replacement W9127823F0454 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Herman Construction Group, Inc. | $2,320,070 | 4 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Open to all |
| Sep 22, 2023 | Option Year 1: Logistics SPT. Labor W912DY23C0048 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Polu Kai Services-Tidewater JV LLC | $748,555 | 4 | Competed Open to all |
| Sep 19, 2023 | BLDG. 1671 RM. 215 CRAC Unit Replacement W91QV123C0062 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Sandow Construction Inc | $1,254,636 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders.
Who won
Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.
| # | Company | Awards | Total value at award |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | J & J Maintenance Inc | 4 | $41,610,456 |
| 2 | Valiant Government Services LLC | 4 | $25,451,071 |
| 3 | Polu Kai Services-Tidewater JV LLC | 3 | $1,598,480 |
| 4 | Recovery Point Systems Inc | 3 | $49,178 |
| 5 | Herman Construction Group, Inc. | 2 | $6,074,122 |
| 6 | Hagerstown Goodwill Industries, Inc. | 2 | $4,132,411 |
| 7 | Seven Generations Architecture & Engineering LLC | 2 | $979,868 |
| 8 | Boonerang Consulting LLC | 2 | $903,102 |
| 9 | Sustainable Facilities Management Services, LLC | 2 | $255,006 |
| 10 | M&G General Construction Services Inc. | 2 | $243,854 |
How the work was bought
Competition
Was the work open to bids?
- Not competed 36 (62%)
Sole-source: only one company was asked.
- Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 18 (31%)
A task order placed under an IDIQ held by several companies, who competed for it.
- Competed 4 (7%)
A standalone contract that was open to bids.
Set-asides
Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.
- Open to all 29 (50%)
No set-aside: any size of business could bid.
- 8(a) 17 (29%)
Reserved for firms in SBA's 8(a) program for disadvantaged small businesses.
- Small business 9 (16%)
Only small businesses could bid.
- Woman-owned 3 (5%)
Reserved for woman-owned small businesses (WOSB/EDWOSB).
Left out of the numbers above: 1 equipment purchase. Why?
Contracting offices buying here
Umbrella contracts used here
Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.
| Contract | Type | Orders | Ordering ends |
|---|---|---|---|
| GS25F0030P | Multiple-award | 3 | Apr 21, 2024 |
| W912DY21D0020 | Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 15 offers | 2 | Jan 31, 2026 |
| 47QSHA19D002S | Multiple-award | 1 | Mar 10, 2029 |
| W9127821D0024 | Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 21 offers | 1 | Aug 29, 2024 |
| W9127821D0025 | Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 21 offers | 1 | Aug 29, 2024 |
Contracts ending soon
Recurring work whose current contract ends within 18 months, so the agency will likely buy it again (a "recompete"). The company doing it today is the incumbent.
-
Contract ends Mar 1, 2027
Support Services, Facilities Management Operations
Incumbent: Pololei Solutions, LLC Buyer: Defense Health Agency Value at award: $1,206,583
W81XWH22C0037 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) -
Contract ends Aug 2, 2027
O&M with Repair and Minor Construction, Various Locations
Incumbent: J & J Maintenance Inc Buyer: USACE Mobile District Value at award: $20,744,196
W9127824C0014 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) -
Contract ends Sep 27, 2027
Service - Floor Cleaning (OPS CTR)
Incumbent: Data Clean LLC Buyer: ACC-APG Contracting Center Value at award: $6,770
W91RUS22P0098 on USAspending (opens in a new tab)
3 more contracts end in the next 18 months. The full recompete radar is part of FedComps Pro (coming soon).
Join the free waitlistTrades at Fort Detrick
Other bases & VA centers
- NIH Bethesda Campus
- Naval Air Station Patuxent River
- Walter Reed National Military Medical Center
- NAVACAD North Severn
- Aberdeen Proving Ground
- Naval Support Facility Indian Head
- Coast Guard Yard
- Joint Base Andrews
- NIST Gaithersburg Campus
- Beltsville Agricultural Research Center
- VA Baltimore
- Fort Meade
- Naval Support Facility Carderock
- VA Perry Point
Report an error on this page
Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.