Base or VA center · Virginia

Building Construction contracts at Naval Support Activity Norfolk NSY

Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Jul 13, 2026. Data status

Open Building Construction bids here now

No open Building Construction bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search

Typical award (median)

$218,269

The middle of 139 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $64.2k and $1.2M.

Typical number of bids

4

Median bids per award, reported for 55 of 55 competed awards. 2% drew only one bid.

Won by small businesses

96%

Share of the 139 priced awards.

Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.

What this means

  • The middle building construction award at Naval Support Activity Norfolk NSY was $218k (FY2021-FY2025, 139 priced awards).
  • That is 56% higher than the median for building construction in Virginia ($140k).
  • Competed awards drew a median of 4 offers (reported for 55 of 55).
  • 2% of competed awards drew only one offer.
  • In FY2025 the middle award was $1.4M, up 18% from FY2024 ($1.2M).
  • Tip 60% of these awards were task orders under single-award contracts (IDIQs). Only the company holding that contract could get them, so watch for the umbrella contract to be re-bid.
  • Tip 95% of awards with a reported set-aside were reserved for small businesses, so small firms were not bidding against large companies.

FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist

Get alerts for new building construction work near Naval Support Activity Norfolk NSY

  • Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
  • Deadline and amendment alerts
  • Recompete radar
  • Plain-English bid summaries
  • Competitor tracking
  • Unlimited saved searches

Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing

Your sign-up did not go through. Please check your email and ZIP code and try again. The spam check needs JavaScript turned on.

Add your company (optional)

We only email you about the launch. Delete your details any time.

Awards per year

Column chart of awards per fiscal year, FY2016 to FY2026. FY2025, the latest full year: 14 awards. Most in one year: 55 awards in FY2021. FY2026 is still being reported. 0 20 40 60 2016 ’16 2017 ’17 2018 ’18 2019 ’19 2020 ’20 55 2021 ’21 2022 ’22 2023 ’23 2024 ’24 14 2025 ’25 2026 ’26
  • FY2025, the latest full year: 14 awards
  • FY2026 is still being reported
Federal fiscal years run October to September.
Show the numbers
YearAwardsMedian award
FY2016 13 $1,248,000
FY2017 5 $2,454,650
FY2018 17 $1,546,500
FY2019 34 $474,369
FY2020 40 $83,360
FY2021 55 $106,369
FY2022 32 $151,390
FY2023 23 $745,447
FY2024 15 $1,171,849
FY2025 14 $1,379,068
FY2026 (provisional) 6 $2,794,274

Award sizes

Bar chart of priced awards FY2021–FY2025 by size. The most common size was $25k to $250k (60 awards). The median award, $218,269, is in the $25k to $250k band. Under $25k 13 $25k to $250k 60 $250k to $1M 27 $1M to $5M 29 $5M to $25M 6 Over $25M 4
  • Holds the median award, $218,269
Priced awards FY2021–FY2025, by value at award.

Recent awards

The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.

Project How it was awarded
Jun 30, 2026 P-1476U New Fire Apparatus Bay Cheatham Annex, Naval Weapons Station Yorktown, Virginia N4008526F1161 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Individual contractor (name withheld) $7,060,937 8 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Apr 23, 2026 NSA Portsmouth BLDG 31 Abate and Paint RM 117, 1ST Floor N4008526F0796 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Baron Communications Incorporated $38,283 1 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Mar 16, 2026 BLDG 234 Repair Falling Concrete Facade N4008526F0575 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Individual contractor (name withheld) $288,678 7 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Feb 11, 2026 Design-Build Demolition of Building 195 Located at Norfolk Naval Shipyard, Portsmouth, Virginia N4008526F0364 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Saw Eastern JV, LLC $22,758,376 8 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Jan 9, 2026 Repair Light #1103 Next to Berth #37, Naval Support Activity (NSA) Portsmouth, Portsmouth, Virginia N4008526F0238 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Baron Communications Incorporated $7,699 1 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Dec 29, 2025 Nnsy BLDG 510 Replace Elevators 63 and 67 N4008526F0035 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Argus CJW JV 3 LLC $5,299,870 6 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Nov 26, 2025 Demolition of Building 195 Located at Norfolk Naval Shipyard, Portsmouth, Virginia N4008526F0097 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Cancelled / $0 Encon Desbuild JV 3 LLC $8,922,394 7 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 30, 2025 NMCP BLDG 002 - Restore Common Restrooms and Staff Locker Room N4008525F1301 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Unusually large S. B. Ballard Construction Company $28,233,972 2 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Open to all
Sep 30, 2025 St Juliens Creek BLDG. 180 Renovations N4008525F1315 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Virtexco Corp $8,295,030 8 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 30, 2025 New, Building 1641 and 1642 CDC Repairs, Naval Support Activity Portsmouth, Portsmouth, Virginia N4008525F1354 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) TST Tactical Defense Solutions, Inc. $704,684 4 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Sep 16, 2025 Nnsy BLDG 1593 Replace 1000 Kva Transformer Z-12A N4008525F1055 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) TST Tactical Defense Solutions, Inc. $1,053,576 7 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Sep 15, 2025 Building 288 Replace Storefront Doors, Naval Medical Center Portsmouth, Portsmouth, Virginia N4008525F1057 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Encon Desbuild JV 3 LLC $399,000 8 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 11, 2025 BLDG. 13, Remove and Replace Carpet and Cubicles N4008525F0847 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Individual contractor (name withheld) $483,374 7 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Sep 5, 2025 The Project Includes the Removal and Replacement of All Carpet, Wood Laminate Flooring, As Well As Cubicles in Areas Needed on 1ST and 2ND Deck. Contractor Shall Reestablish All Work Stations and Furniture Where Work Is Performed. N4008525F0923 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Equipment purchase Argus CJW JV 3 LLC $2,167,959 7 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Jul 31, 2025 Building 18Y Brick Repairs N4008525F0471 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Individual contractor (name withheld) $1,532,135 7 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Jul 31, 2025 Nnsy BLDGS 61 and 62 Relocate Steam Lines N4008525F0473 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) TST Tactical Defense Solutions, Inc. $3,013,048 4 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Jul 31, 2025 NSA Portsmouth Building 236 - Roof Replacement N4008525F0481 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) TST Tactical Defense Solutions, Inc. $3,838,679 7 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 8(a)
May 13, 2025 Building 1764 Install Redundant Power FW N4008525F4347 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Ers-Cye JV II, LLC $262,706 7 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
May 9, 2025 Norfolk Naval Shipyard Triplex and Building 163 Repairs N6247025F4030 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Unusually large Offers from IDIQ RQ Construction, LLC $121,181,400 16 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Apr 3, 2025 Nnsy BLDG 163 Install N4008525F4736 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) TST Tactical Defense Solutions, Inc. $1,226,000 7 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Mar 12, 2025 X028 Nnsy, BLDG 261 Paint Roof N4008525F4867 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Individual contractor (name withheld) $780,501 7 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Mar 3, 2025 B171 Renovations N4008525F4677 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Baron-Rand JV LLC $9,989,966 5 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 8(a)
Sep 30, 2024 X001 Nnsy BLDG 510 Replace Elevator #64 N4008524F6696 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Ocean Construction Services Inc $2,880,645 9 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 30, 2024 X013 NMCP Fire Alarm Upgrades N4008524F6773 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Argus CJW JV 3 LLC $1,232,476 4 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 24, 2024 Nnsy Ground Level Portal Crane Travel Zone Marking N4008524F6472 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Baron-Rand JV LLC $2,859,326 5 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 8(a)

Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders.

Who won

Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.

#CompanyAwardsTotal value at award
1 Baron Communications Incorporated 20 $1,619,897
2 Professionals Hir LLC 17 $2,069,823
3 Turner Strategic Technologies, LLC 13 $30,374,257
4 Asturian Group, Inc. 10 $434,080
5 Tuskegee Contracting, LLC 9 $2,231,170
6 Syncon LLC 8 $15,496,833
7 TST Tactical Defense Solutions, Inc. 5 $9,835,987
8 Safeco - Cdsi JV L.L.C. 4 $9,670,592
9 Baron-Rand JV LLC 3 $13,981,867
10 Argus CJW JV 3 LLC 3 $3,563,326

How the work was bought

Competition

Was the work open to bids?

  • Order (single-award IDIQ) 84 (60%)

    A task order under an IDIQ held by one company. No new competition, so it is left out of bid statistics.

  • Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 55 (40%)

    A task order placed under an IDIQ held by several companies, who competed for it.

Set-asides

Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.

  • 8(a) 110 (79%)

    Reserved for firms in SBA's 8(a) program for disadvantaged small businesses.

  • Small business 22 (16%)

    Only small businesses could bid.

  • Open to all 7 (5%)

    No set-aside: any size of business could bid.

Left out of the numbers above: 7 equipment purchases. Why?

Umbrella contracts used here

Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.

Contract Type Orders Ordering ends
N4008520D0052 Single-award The IDIQ drew 1 offers 20 Sep 13, 2025
N4008519D7416 Single-award The IDIQ drew 1 offers 17 Sep 28, 2024
N4008521D0051 Single-award The IDIQ drew 1 offers 17 Jun 3, 2026
N4008519D9198 Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 19 offers 13 Aug 14, 2024
N4008519D7417 Single-award The IDIQ drew 1 offers 10 Sep 23, 2024
Report an error on this page

Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.