Metro area
Heavy & Civil Construction contracts in the Grand Rapids, MI area
Also called: Grand Rapids-Wyoming-Kentwood, MI
Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Jul 13, 2026. Data status
Open Heavy & Civil Construction bids here now
No open Heavy & Civil Construction bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search
Typical award (median)
$872,075
The middle of 12 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $775k and $944k.
Typical number of bids
2
Median bids per award, reported for 11 of 11 competed awards. 18% drew only one bid.
Won by small businesses
100%
Share of the 12 priced awards.
Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.
What this means
- The middle heavy & civil award in the Grand Rapids, MI area was $872k (FY2021-FY2025, 12 priced awards).
- That is 10% lower than the median for heavy & civil in Michigan ($970k).
- Competed awards drew a median of 2 offers (reported for 11 of 11).
- 18% of competed awards drew only one offer.
- Small businesses won 100% of priced awards.
- Tip 67% of these awards were task orders under multiple-award contracts (MATOCs). To compete for those, you first need a spot on one of the umbrella contracts.
- Tip 100% of awards with a reported set-aside were reserved for small businesses, so small firms were not bidding against large companies.
FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist
Get alerts for new heavy & civil work in the Grand Rapids, MI area
- Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
- Deadline and amendment alerts
- Recompete radar
- Plain-English bid summaries
- Competitor tracking
- Unlimited saved searches
Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing
Awards per year
- FY2025, the latest full year: 3 awards
- FY2026 is still being reported
Show the numbers
| Year | Awards | Median award |
|---|---|---|
| FY2016 | 5 | $487,000 |
| FY2017 | 3 | – |
| FY2018 | 6 | $536,790 |
| FY2019 | 3 | – |
| FY2020 | 1 | – |
| FY2021 | 3 | – |
| FY2022 | 2 | – |
| FY2023 | 2 | – |
| FY2024 | 2 | – |
| FY2025 | 3 | – |
| FY2026 (provisional) | 2 | – |
Award sizes
- Holds the median award, $872,075
Recent awards
The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.
| Project | How it was awarded | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 8, 2026 | FY26 St. Joseph (Outer) Harbor and Outer Harbor Maintenance Dredging W911XK26CA004 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Individual contractor (name withheld) | $1,174,786 | 3 | Competed Small business |
| Nov 13, 2025 | FY26 Grand Haven (Outer) Maintenance Dredging and Beach Nourishment W911XK26CA002 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $546,000 | 5 | Competed Small business |
| Sep 16, 2025 | Inner Harbor Maintenance Dredging W911XK25CA035 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $1,273,200 | 1 | Competed Small business |
| Sep 10, 2025 | Grand Haven North Pier Wave W911XK25CA034 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Individual contractor (name withheld) | $9,257,575 | 3 | Competed Small business |
| Aug 12, 2025 | Grand Haven Inner Harbor Maintenance Dredging W911XK25CA030 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $852,835 | 3 | Competed Small business |
| Jun 5, 2024 | FY24 Inner Maintenance Dredging W911XK24F0029 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $678,200 | 2 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Feb 26, 2024 | FY24 Grand Haven and Holland Outer Harbors Maintenance Dredging W911XK24F0008 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $901,885 | 1 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Jun 15, 2023 | Weber Dam Services & Materials 140A1623C0008 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Chiricahua Procurement LLC | $898,834 | 1 | Not competed 8(a) |
| Feb 28, 2023 | Grand Haven and Holland Harbor Maintenance Dredging W911XK23F0011 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $1,072,050 | 2 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Jul 20, 2022 | Maintenance Dredging of the Grand Haven Harbor, Inner Section W911XK22F0040 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $415,000 | 3 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Apr 26, 2022 | Grand Haven Outer Harbor and Holland Harbor Maintenance Dredging W911XK22F0025 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $598,350 | 2 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Jul 29, 2021 | FY21 Grand Haven Inner Harbor W911XK21F0047 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $864,500 | 2 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Jul 13, 2021 | FY21 Inner Harbor MD W911XK21F0043 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | M C M Marine, Inc. | $807,600 | 3 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| May 21, 2021 | M/D Grand Haven - Outer W911XK21F0032 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $879,650 | 2 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Jun 17, 2020 | FY20 MD Holland (Outer) W911XK20C0012 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Luedtke Engineering Co | $455,610 | 3 | Competed Small business |
| Jul 9, 2019 | M/D Grand Haven (Inner) Harbor W911XK19C0011 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $769,036 | 2 | Competed Small business |
| Jun 13, 2019 | FY19 M/D Outer W911XK19C0008 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $1,319,815 | 1 | Competed Small business |
| May 8, 2019 | FY19 M/D Ludington Harbor W911XK19C0006 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | M C M Marine, Inc. | $394,300 | 3 | Competed Small business |
| Aug 15, 2018 | FY18 Maintenance Dredging at St. Joseph Inner Harbor W911XK18F0059 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Individual contractor (name withheld) | $457,422 | 2 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Jun 27, 2018 | IGF:Ot:IGF FY18 O&M Contract - M/D Monroe Harbor W911XK18F0046 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | M C M Marine, Inc. | $494,500 | 5 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Apr 18, 2018 | Inner Harbor Maintenance Dredging W911XK18F0037 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $787,960 | 2 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Jan 30, 2018 | FY18 M/D Grand Haven Inner Harbor W911XK18F0020 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $242,520 | 2 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Jan 18, 2018 | FY18 M/D Grand Haven, Holland and St Joseph Outer Harbors W911XK18F0018 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $579,080 | 2 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Oct 17, 2017 | PFA IGE: $780,000.P/N 5634245 Repair Sinkholes STA Grand Haven, MI 70Z08318CPCR04700 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | V Pavkov Contracting Co Inc | $760,450 | 1 | Competed Small business |
| May 18, 2017 | FY17 MD St Joe and Holland Harbor 0002 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | King Co Inc | $374,000 | 3 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business |
Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders.
Who won
Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.
| # | Company | Awards | Total value at award |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | King Co Inc | 9 | $7,535,670 |
| 2 | Chiricahua Procurement LLC | 1 | $898,834 |
| 3 | M C M Marine, Inc. | 1 | $807,600 |
How the work was bought
Competition
Was the work open to bids?
- Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 8 (67%)
A task order placed under an IDIQ held by several companies, who competed for it.
- Competed 3 (25%)
A standalone contract that was open to bids.
- Not competed 1 (8%)
Sole-source: only one company was asked.
Set-asides
Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.
- Small business 11 (92%)
Only small businesses could bid.
- 8(a) 1 (8%)
Reserved for firms in SBA's 8(a) program for disadvantaged small businesses.
Contracting offices buying here
Umbrella contracts used here
Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.
| Contract | Type | Orders | Ordering ends |
|---|---|---|---|
| W911XK21D0004 | Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 9 offers | 7 | Feb 2, 2025 |
| W911XK21D0006 | Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 9 offers | 1 | Feb 2, 2025 |
Other trades in this area
Report an error on this page
Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.