Metro area
Heavy & Civil Construction contracts in the Portland, ME area
Also called: Portland-South Portland, ME
Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Jul 13, 2026. Data status
Open Heavy & Civil Construction bids here now
No open Heavy & Civil Construction bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search
Typical award (median)
$1,713,700
The middle of 24 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $289k and $3M.
Typical number of bids
3
Median bids per award, reported for 16 of 16 competed awards. 13% drew only one bid.
Won by small businesses
75%
Share of the 24 priced awards.
Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.
What this means
- The middle heavy & civil award in the Portland, ME area was $1.7M (FY2021-FY2025, 24 priced awards).
- That is 14% higher than the median for heavy & civil in Maine ($1.5M).
- Competed awards drew a median of 3 offers (reported for 16 of 16).
- 13% of competed awards drew only one offer.
- Small businesses won 75% of priced awards.
- Tip 58% of awards with a reported set-aside were reserved for small businesses, so small firms were not bidding against large companies.
FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist
Get alerts for new heavy & civil work in the Portland, ME area
- Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
- Deadline and amendment alerts
- Recompete radar
- Plain-English bid summaries
- Competitor tracking
- Unlimited saved searches
Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing
Awards per year
- FY2025, the latest full year: 3 awards
- FY2026 is still being reported
Show the numbers
| Year | Awards | Median award |
|---|---|---|
| FY2016 | 3 | – |
| FY2017 | 6 | $3,771,314 |
| FY2018 | 6 | $2,135,825 |
| FY2019 | 3 | – |
| FY2020 | 4 | – |
| FY2021 | 5 | $1,747,500 |
| FY2022 | 4 | – |
| FY2023 | 4 | – |
| FY2024 | 8 | $2,238,605 |
| FY2025 | 3 | – |
| FY2026 (provisional) | 3 | – |
Award sizes
- Holds the median award, $1,713,700
Recent awards
The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.
| Project | How it was awarded | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 21, 2026 | See Continuation N4008526F0946 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Offers from IDIQ Value after changes | Maine Track Maintenance Inc | $281,979 after changes | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Jun 5, 2026 | Provide All Materials, Tools and Equipment to Repair Dry Dock 3 PCR STA. 25+95L(Defect #1101), Dry Dock 2 PCR STA. 0+64L (Defect #913), Dry Dock 2 PCR STA. 0+79R (Defect #1419) and Dry Dock 2 PCR STA. 3+50R (Defect #1100) N4008526F0976 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Maine Track Maintenance Inc | $174,445 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business |
| May 13, 2026 | RM24-2895 Berth 13 Structural Repairs, Portsmouth Naval Shipyard Me - SIOP N6247026C0004 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Engineered Construction Services, Inc. | $13,777,188 | 2 | Competed Open to all |
| Jan 21, 2026 | Construction of a Spur Jetty, Saco River at Camp Beach, Saco, Maine W912WJ26CA001 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Mohawk Northeast Inc | $24,434,100 | 4 | Competed Open to all |
| Aug 22, 2025 | The Work Includes All Labor, Material, Equipment, Transportation, Supervision, and Incidental Related Work to Perform Concrete Repairs to Dry Dock 2 and Dry Dock 3 As Described in the Project Documents. N4008525C0037 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | P & S Construction Inc. | $8,644,800 | 5 | Competed Small business |
| Aug 20, 2025 | Condensate Manhole Repairs N4008525C0027 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Engineered Construction Services, Inc. | $249,492 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Jul 21, 2025 | Track and Rail OY2 Funding Task Order N4008525F0145 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Maine Track Maintenance Inc | $274,118 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Sep 26, 2024 | Joint Bar Splice at Two Broken Rail Locations N4008524F6640 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Maine Track Maintenance Inc | $20,050 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Sep 24, 2024 | Maintenance Dredging Kennebec River, Bath, Maine W912WJ24C0023 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Cashman Dredging & Marine Contracting Co LLC | $2,612,000 | 2 | Competed Open to all |
| Sep 13, 2024 | Maintenance Dredging, River at Perkins Cove, Ogunquit, Maine W912WJ24C0020 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Coastline Consulting & Development, LLC | $2,603,120 | 1 | Competed Small business |
| Jul 26, 2024 | Repair Steel Bulkhead and MISC Paved Areas at U.S. Coast Guard Sector Northern New England, PSN: 2809604 70Z0G124CSNNE0001 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | V Pavkov Contracting Co Inc | $2,522,210 | 3 | Competed Small business |
| Jun 13, 2024 | Task Order to Fund OY1 N4008524F5622 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Maine Track Maintenance Inc | $266,360 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business |
| May 16, 2024 | Maintenance Dredging N4008524C0015 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Coastline Consulting & Development, LLC | $13,636,768 | 2 | Competed Small business |
| Apr 23, 2024 | Repair ATON Southern Maine, PSN: 14105107 70Z0G124CABCD0007 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | V Pavkov Contracting Co Inc | $1,955,000 | 5 | Competed Small business |
| Nov 8, 2023 | Railroad Berth 6, Replace (2) Joint Bars at Stations 24 & 21 N4008524F4065 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Maine Track Maintenance Inc | $4,500 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Sep 19, 2023 | Wells Harbor Maintenance Dredging and Beach Fill Placement Island Beach, Wells, Maine W912WJ23C0016 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Michels Construction, Inc. | $3,577,840 | 4 | Competed Open to all |
| Aug 7, 2023 | Maintenance Dredging of the Scarborough River in Scarborough, Maine W912WJ23C0011 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Michels Construction, Inc. | $2,756,800 | 4 | Competed Open to all |
| Jun 29, 2023 | Funding Task Order for N4008523D0051-MAINTENANCE and Repair of Railroad Trackage at Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Kittery, Maine N4008523F5809 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Maine Track Maintenance Inc | $298,056 | 1 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Jun 14, 2023 | Chebeague Island Dredging- Town of Chebeague, Maine. W912WJ23C0007 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Prock Marine Co | $572,195 | 3 | Competed Small business |
| Sep 17, 2022 | Kennebec River Maintenance Dredging W912WJ22C0017 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Great Lakes Dredge & Dock Co, LLC | $1,477,800 | 3 | Competed Open to all |
| Jun 23, 2022 | Task Order to Fund Option 4 N4008522F5535 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Maine Track Maintenance Inc | $251,096 | 2 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all |
| Apr 14, 2022 | Restore Outfitting Capacity, Berth 6C, Kittery, ME N4008522C0014 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Engineered Construction Services, Inc. | $24,709,771 | 2 | Competed Open to all |
| Jan 11, 2022 | Great Chebeague Island Improvement Dredging, Great Chebeague Island, ME W912WJ22C0004 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) | Burnham Associates, Inc | $1,538,750 | 2 | Competed Small business |
| Aug 13, 2021 | P-381 Multi-Mission Dry Dock #1, Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Kittery, ME N4008521C0077 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Unusually large | 381 Constructors | $1,731,477,644 | 2 | Competed Open to all |
| Jul 21, 2021 | Task Order to Fund Opt Year 3 N4008521F5878 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ | Maine Track Maintenance Inc | $293,834 | 2 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all |
Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders. After changes = the original award value was not reported, so the value shown includes later changes; such awards are left out of price statistics.
Who won
Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.
| # | Company | Awards | Total value at award |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Maine Track Maintenance Inc | 7 | $1,408,014 |
| 2 | Coastline Consulting & Development, LLC | 4 | $24,909,705 |
| 3 | Engineered Construction Services, Inc. | 2 | $24,959,263 |
| 4 | Michels Construction, Inc. | 2 | $6,334,640 |
| 5 | V Pavkov Contracting Co Inc | 2 | $4,477,210 |
| 6 | 381 Constructors | 1 | $1,731,477,644 |
| 7 | P & S Construction Inc. | 1 | $8,644,800 |
| 8 | Cashman Dredging & Marine Contracting Co LLC | 1 | $2,612,000 |
| 9 | Mohawk Northeast Inc | 1 | $1,747,500 |
| 10 | Burnham Associates, Inc | 1 | $1,538,750 |
How the work was bought
Competition
Was the work open to bids?
- Competed 16 (67%)
A standalone contract that was open to bids.
- Order (single-award IDIQ) 7 (29%)
A task order under an IDIQ held by one company. No new competition, so it is left out of bid statistics.
- Not competed 1 (4%)
Sole-source: only one company was asked.
Set-asides
Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.
- Small business 14 (58%)
Only small businesses could bid.
- Open to all 10 (42%)
No set-aside: any size of business could bid.
Contracting offices buying here
Umbrella contracts used here
Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.
| Contract | Type | Orders | Ordering ends |
|---|---|---|---|
| N4008523D0051 | Single-award The IDIQ drew 1 offers | 5 | Jun 30, 2028 |
| N4008518D9509 | Single-award The IDIQ drew 2 offers | 2 | Jun 30, 2023 |
Other trades in this area
Report an error on this page
Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.