Base or VA center · Maryland

HVAC & Plumbing contracts at NIH Bethesda Campus

Also called: National Institutes of Health · NIH Clinical Center

Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Sep 21, 2026. Data status

Open HVAC & Plumbing bids here now

No open HVAC & Plumbing bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search

Typical award (median)

$61,663

The middle of 136 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $24k and $152k.

Typical number of bids

2

Median bids per award, reported for 21 of 21 competed awards. 19% drew only one bid.

Won by small businesses

82%

Share of the 136 priced awards.

Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.

What this means

  • The middle HVAC & plumbing award at NIH Bethesda Campus was $61.7k (FY2021-FY2025, 136 priced awards).
  • That is 8% higher than the median for HVAC & plumbing in Maryland ($56.9k).
  • Competed awards drew a median of 2 offers (reported for 21 of 21).
  • 19% of competed awards drew only one offer.
  • In FY2025 the middle award was $49k, up 36% from FY2024 ($36.1k).
  • Tip 65% of these awards were task orders under single-award contracts (IDIQs). Only the company holding that contract could get them, so watch for the umbrella contract to be re-bid.
  • Tip The typical award drew only 2 bids. Less competition can mean a better chance for a new bidder.

FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist

Get alerts for new HVAC & plumbing work near NIH Bethesda Campus

  • Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
  • Deadline and amendment alerts
  • Recompete radar
  • Plain-English bid summaries
  • Competitor tracking
  • Unlimited saved searches

Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing

Your sign-up did not go through. Please check your email and ZIP code and try again. The spam check needs JavaScript turned on.

Add your company (optional)

We only email you about the launch. Delete your details any time.

Awards per year

Column chart of awards per fiscal year, FY2016 to FY2026. FY2025, the latest full year: 31 awards. Most in one year: 33 awards in FY2023. FY2026 is still being reported. 0 10 20 30 40 2016 ’16 2017 ’17 2018 ’18 2019 ’19 2020 ’20 2021 ’21 2022 ’22 33 2023 ’23 2024 ’24 31 2025 ’25 2026 ’26
  • FY2025, the latest full year: 31 awards
  • FY2026 is still being reported
Federal fiscal years run October to September.
Show the numbers
YearAwardsMedian award
FY2016 5 $8,852
FY2017 3 –
FY2018 6 $108,527
FY2019 30 $71,663
FY2020 17 $52,256
FY2021 15 $107,350
FY2022 26 $35,742
FY2023 33 $198,580
FY2024 31 $36,131
FY2025 31 $48,975
FY2026 (provisional) 30 $73,771

Award sizes

Bar chart of priced awards FY2021–FY2025 by size. The most common size was $25k to $250k (81 awards). The median award, $61,663, is in the $25k to $250k band. Under $25k 37 $25k to $250k 81 $250k to $1M 10 $1M to $5M 8 $5M to $25M 0 Over $25M 0
  • Holds the median award, $61,663
Priced awards FY2021–FY2025, by value at award.

Recent awards

The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.

Project How it was awarded
Sep 10, 2026 C202392 - Building 8 Lab Vacuum Pump Replacement 75N99026F00005 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) General and Mechanical Services, LLC $210,437 3 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Sep 3, 2026 C202427 - Building 35 Replace Lab Vacuum Pumps 75N99026F00004 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) General and Mechanical Services, LLC $253,854 3 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Sep 1, 2026 C202295 - Building 31 A/B Pump Replacement 75N99026F00003 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) General and Mechanical Services, LLC $75,873 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Sep 1, 2026 C202273 Replace Existing Heat Transfer, BLDG. 14B RM B14B 75N99026F00006 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $120,688 2 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Aug 14, 2026 C202191 NIMH Building 10 Install Fan Coil Units in Labs for Supplemental Cooling 75N98026F00017 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $53,972 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Jul 24, 2026 M31897374 - Steam Station Repairs, Building 10 75N99026F00004 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $299,688 2 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Jul 9, 2026 M33319477 - Air Compressor Replacement and Repair, Building 33 75N99026F00002 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) General and Mechanical Services, LLC $52,057 2 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Jul 1, 2026 H-Wing HVAC and BAS Controls Upgrade 75N98026F00016 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $294,118 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Jul 1, 2026 M33139895 -Heating Water Return Pipe Replacement Wing, 12TH Floor 75N98026P00873 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Metal Men LLC $17,288 1 Not competed Open to all
Jun 17, 2026 HVAC Repair and Pipe Work, Building 14H 75N98026F00005 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) General and Mechanical Services, LLC $30,964 2 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Jun 15, 2026 C201898 - Replace Steam Preheat Coils in AHU-7 and AHU-16, Building 41 75N98026F00014 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $36,188 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
May 28, 2026 C202059 - Repurpose of Air Handler Unit, Building 12B 75N98026F00013 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $298,915 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
May 22, 2026 NIH CRC Steam System Repairs & Upgrades, Building 10-65 75N98026F00012 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $277,791 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
May 19, 2026 NIH CRC Steam System Repairs & Upgrades, Building 10-33 75N98026F00011 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $231,457 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
May 12, 2026 Installation of Two Ducted Diffusers with Dampers 75N98026F00010 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $68,643 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
May 5, 2026 C202131-PROVIDE Repair to Equipment and Utilities and to Have a 24HR Support 75N98026F00009 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $250,000 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Apr 27, 2026 C201969 - Drain Pipe Leak Repair, Building 14B 75N98026F00008 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $29,137 2 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Apr 22, 2026 C202098 - Lab 3E41 AHU-16 AHU Replacement, Building 13 75N98026F00007 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $108,850 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Apr 15, 2026 C201982 - Sewage Ejector Pump Replacement, Building 35 75N98026F00005 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $42,516 2 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Apr 15, 2026 C201831 - Replace Chilled Water Coils, Building 14B 75N98026F00006 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $88,788 2 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Apr 10, 2026 C201640 - Installation of Supplemental Cooling & Dehumidification System in Animal Feed Room, BLDG. 49 75N99026F00001 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) General and Mechanical Services, LLC $119,712 2 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Mar 31, 2026 Repair Reheat System, B1N264, Building 10 75N98026F00004 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $57,452 2 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Mar 27, 2026 C201747 Replace the Failed Steam-to-Hot Water Heat Transfer Package, Building 30 Labs 75N98026F00002 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Cheroenhaka Nottoway Enterprises, LLC $233,085 3 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Mar 26, 2026 Replace and Service VFD Units 75N98026F00003 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $71,669 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all
Feb 27, 2026 C201488 Animal Cage Wash Installation in Basement Room 111, Building 8 75N98026F00002 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC $100,520 1 Order (single-award IDIQ) Open to all

Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders.

Who won

Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.

#CompanyAwardsTotal value at award
1 Chappelle Mechanical Services LLC 53 $5,452,184
2 General and Mechanical Services, LLC 21 $1,431,683
3 Cheroenhaka Nottoway Enterprises, LLC 18 $1,692,675
4 Olgoonik General, LLC 6 $12,351,406
5 Reon Inc 6 $607,378
6 Westerly Enterprises, LLC 4 $6,657,004
7 Infinity-Cma JV, LLC 4 $330,552
8 Martec Facilities Management Company LLC 4 $107,043
9 Sandow Construction Inc 2 $260,678
10 Tilt Up Construction, Inc. 2 $239,157

How the work was bought

Competition

Was the work open to bids?

  • Order (single-award IDIQ) 88 (65%)

    A task order under an IDIQ held by one company. No new competition, so it is left out of bid statistics.

  • Not competed 27 (20%)

    Sole-source: only one company was asked.

  • Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 16 (12%)

    A task order placed under an IDIQ held by several companies, who competed for it.

  • Competed 5 (4%)

    A standalone contract that was open to bids.

Set-asides

Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.

  • Open to all 79 (58%)

    No set-aside: any size of business could bid.

  • Small business 38 (28%)

    Only small businesses could bid.

  • 8(a) 19 (14%)

    Reserved for firms in SBA's 8(a) program for disadvantaged small businesses.

Left out of the numbers above: 6 equipment purchases, 1 cancelled or $0 award. Why?

Umbrella contracts used here

Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.

Contract Type Orders Ordering ends
75N99022A00016 Single-award 46 Apr 25, 2029
75N99022A00015 Single-award 14 Apr 25, 2029
75N99022A00018 Single-award 13 Apr 25, 2029
75N99019A00006 Multiple-award 7 Apr 4, 2022
75N99019A00010 Multiple-award 6 Apr 4, 2022
Report an error on this page

Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.