Base or VA center · Pennsylvania

VA Pittsburgh: federal construction & facilities contracts

Also called: Pittsburgh VA Medical Center-University Drive · H. John Heinz III Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center

Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Sep 21, 2026. Data status

Open bids here now

No open bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search

Typical award (median)

$159,815

The middle of 109 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $21.5k and $949k.

Typical number of bids

5

Median bids per award, reported for 70 of 70 competed awards. 16% drew only one bid.

Won by small businesses

79%

Share of the 109 priced awards.

Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.

What this means

  • The middle construction & facilities award at VA Pittsburgh was $160k (FY2021-FY2025, 109 priced awards).
  • That is 4.2 times the median for all construction & facilities work in Pennsylvania ($37.9k).
  • Competed awards drew a median of 5 offers (reported for 70 of 70).
  • 16% of competed awards drew only one offer.
  • In FY2025 the middle award was $74.2k, about the same as in FY2024.
  • Tip 54% of these awards were task orders under multiple-award contracts (MATOCs). To compete for those, you first need a spot on one of the umbrella contracts.
  • Tip 71% of awards with a reported set-aside were reserved for small businesses, so small firms were not bidding against large companies.

FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist

Get alerts for new building construction work near VA Pittsburgh

  • Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
  • Deadline and amendment alerts
  • Recompete radar
  • Plain-English bid summaries
  • Competitor tracking
  • Unlimited saved searches

Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing

Your sign-up did not go through. Please check your email and ZIP code and try again. The spam check needs JavaScript turned on.

Add your company (optional)

We only email you about the launch. Delete your details any time.

Awards per year

Column chart of awards per fiscal year, FY2016 to FY2026. FY2025, the latest full year: 25 awards. Most in one year: 30 awards in FY2016. FY2026 is still being reported. 0 10 20 30 2016 ’16 2017 ’17 2018 ’18 2019 ’19 2020 ’20 2021 ’21 2022 ’22 2023 ’23 2024 ’24 25 2025 ’25 2026 ’26
  • FY2025, the latest full year: 25 awards
  • FY2026 is still being reported
Federal fiscal years run October to September.
Show the numbers
YearAwardsMedian award
FY2016 30 $73,175
FY2017 29 $24,327
FY2018 20 $24,217
FY2019 28 $80,334
FY2020 18 $55,955
FY2021 27 $74,230
FY2022 19 $647,800
FY2023 21 $244,540
FY2024 17 $74,510
FY2025 25 $74,230
FY2026 (provisional) 11 $325,040

Award sizes

Bar chart of priced awards FY2021–FY2025 by size. The most common size was $25k to $250k (38 awards). The median award, $159,815, is in the $25k to $250k band. Under $25k 28 $25k to $250k 38 $250k to $1M 18 $1M to $5M 14 $5M to $25M 11 Over $25M 0
  • Holds the median award, $159,815
Priced awards FY2021–FY2025, by value at award.

Recent awards

The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.

Project How it was awarded
Sep 24, 2026 Emergency Repair of Terrazzo Floor to Eliminate Tripping Hazard 36C24426N1137 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Approx. location Tbi Payne JV, LLC $37,900 1 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 24, 2026 EHRM Infrastructure Upgrades 36C77626C0091 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Approx. location FDCD II Joint Venture, LLC $22,582,000 6 Competed Veteran-owned
Sep 23, 2026 PM&R Boiler Training 36C24426N0722 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Offers from IDIQ Approx. location Boiler Efficiency Institute, LLC $23,622 5 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business
Aug 7, 2026 EO 14398 36C24426N0988 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Serviam Construction LLC $370,450 2 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned
Jul 23, 2026 6 Elevator PM&R 36C24426F0317 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Elevated Technologies Services, LLC $476,880 1 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Open to all
Jul 21, 2026 UD Fire Panels 36C24426F0300 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Johnson Controls Fire Protection LP $81,277 1 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Open to all
Jun 16, 2026 Boiler Preventative Maintenance and Inspection Services at the VA Pittsburgh Healthcare System 36C24426P0348 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Combustion Service & Equipment Co $106,526 1 Not competed Open to all
May 28, 2026 Fire Protection - Inspection and Maintenance 36C24426F0238 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Value after changes Johnson Controls Fire Protection LP $86,516 after changes 1 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Open to all
Feb 3, 2026 Emergent Repairs to Police Gate House 36C24426N0415 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Tbi Payne JV, LLC $40,000 1 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Nov 24, 2025 Elevator and Lift Maintenance and Repair Services 36C24426N0186 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Approx. location Brave One Contract Agency, LLC $698,328 3 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ)
Oct 27, 2025 Pittsburgh Erie 5 Year Construction MATOC- 646-21-110 UD East Vault Water Monitoring 36C24426N0064 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Rbvetco, LLC $325,040 4 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned
Oct 22, 2025 Pittsburgh Erie MATOC- 646-20-108 HZ Generator Site Prep B49/52 36C24426N0055 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Tbi Payne JV, LLC $5,790,000 4 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned
Sep 30, 2025 Medium Voltage Systems Repair for Orlando VA Healthcare System Lake 36C24825P2246 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Re Yates Electric Inc $675,000 5 Competed Veteran-owned
Sep 29, 2025 Replace Fill in Towers UD 36C24425N1310 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Serviam Construction LLC $764,396 5 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned
Sep 26, 2025 646A4-25-205 Emergency Boiler Master Control Panel Repair 36C24425N1329 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Rbvetco, LLC $182,175 2 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned
Sep 22, 2025 UD Replace Domestic Water Branch Piping Phase 4 & 5 36C24425N1187 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Rbvetco, LLC $7,464,952 2 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned
Sep 22, 2025 Install Welder 36C24E25P0057 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Joseph T Berrena Mechanicals Inc $27,809 1 Not competed Veteran-owned
Sep 17, 2025 Elevator Repair Services 36C24425N1292 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Approx. location Elevated Technologies Services, LLC $26,480 1 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ)
Aug 15, 2025 UD BLDG 30 RTU Coil and UV Light Replacement 36C24425C0045 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Rbvetco, LLC $688,261 2 Competed Veteran-owned
Jul 30, 2025 Pittsburgh Erie 5 Year Construction MATOC 36C24425N0907 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Rbvetco, LLC $2,727,678 9 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Jul 23, 2025 Pittsburgh Erie 5 Year Construction MATOC 36C24425N1012 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Serviam Construction LLC $5,000 8 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Jul 23, 2025 Pittsburgh Erie 5 Year Construction MATOC 36C24425N1015 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Venergy Group LLC $5,000 8 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Jul 23, 2025 Pittsburgh Erie MATOC 5 Years: Minimum Guarantee 36C24425N1019 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Valiant Construction LLC $5,000 9 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned
Jul 23, 2025 Pittsburgh Erie MATOC 36C24425N1020 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Tbi Payne JV, LLC $5,000 9 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned
Jul 23, 2025 Pittsburgh Erie Construction MATOC: Min Guarantee 36C24425N1021 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Richard Group LLC $5,000 8 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned

Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders. After changes = the original award value was not reported, so the value shown includes later changes; such awards are left out of price statistics.

Who won

Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.

#CompanyAwardsTotal value at award
1 Rbvetco, LLC 23 $98,210,571
2 Serviam Construction LLC 10 $21,127,219
3 Mare Solutions Inc 10 $6,021,100
4 Spartan Construction Services Inc 6 $14,477,426
5 Elevated Technologies Services, LLC 5 $2,102,126
6 Automated Logic Contracting Services, Inc. 5 $822,348
7 WHD, LLC 3 $490,826
8 Ruthrauff Sauer, LLC 3 $279,750
9 Johnson Controls, Inc 3 $135,116
10 Abm Electrical Power Solutions LLC 3 $25,279

How the work was bought

Competition

Was the work open to bids?

  • Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 59 (54%)

    A task order placed under an IDIQ held by several companies, who competed for it.

  • Not competed 20 (18%)

    Sole-source: only one company was asked.

  • Order (single-award IDIQ) 19 (17%)

    A task order under an IDIQ held by one company. No new competition, so it is left out of bid statistics.

  • Competed 11 (10%)

    A standalone contract that was open to bids.

Set-asides

Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.

  • Veteran-owned 68 (62%)

    Reserved for service-disabled veteran-owned (SDVOSB) or veteran-owned (VOSB) small businesses.

  • Open to all 30 (28%)

    No set-aside: any size of business could bid.

  • Small business 7 (6%)

    Only small businesses could bid.

  • Not reported 4 (4%)

    The agency did not report a set-aside.

Left out of the numbers above: 1 equipment purchase, 2 cancelled or $0 awards. Why?

Umbrella contracts used here

Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.

Contract Type Orders Ordering ends
36C24420D0026 Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 11 offers 16 Mar 12, 2025
36C24420D0020 Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 11 offers 9 Mar 12, 2025
36C24421D0111 Single-award The IDIQ drew 7 offers 7 Sep 12, 2026
36C24420D0019 Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 11 offers 6 Mar 12, 2025
36C24420D0025 Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 11 offers 5 Mar 12, 2025

Contracts ending soon

Recurring work whose current contract ends within 18 months, so the agency will likely buy it again (a "recompete"). The company doing it today is the incumbent.

Report an error on this page

Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.