Base or VA center · Virginia
VA Richmond: federal construction & facilities contracts
Also called: Hunter Holmes McGuire Hospital
Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Sep 21, 2026. Data status
Open bids here now
No open bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search
Typical award (median)
$56,376
The middle of 80 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $15.5k and $348k.
Typical number of bids
3
Median bids per award, reported for 49 of 49 competed awards. 18% drew only one bid.
Won by small businesses
75%
Share of the 80 priced awards.
Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.
What this means
- The middle construction & facilities award at VA Richmond was $56.4k (FY2021-FY2025, 80 priced awards).
- That is 9% higher than the median for all construction & facilities work in Virginia ($51.9k).
- Competed awards drew a median of 3 offers (reported for 49 of 49).
- 18% of competed awards drew only one offer.
- In FY2025 the middle award was $125k, down 30% from FY2024 ($178k).
- Tip 50% of awards with a reported set-aside were reserved for small businesses, so small firms were not bidding against large companies.
FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist
Get alerts for new HVAC & plumbing work near VA Richmond
- Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
- Deadline and amendment alerts
- Recompete radar
- Plain-English bid summaries
- Competitor tracking
- Unlimited saved searches
Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing
Awards per year
- FY2025, the latest full year: 12 awards
- FY2026 is still being reported
Show the numbers
| Year | Awards | Median award |
|---|---|---|
| FY2016 | 15 | $25,473 |
| FY2017 | 25 | $118,000 |
| FY2018 | 35 | $39,555 |
| FY2019 | 17 | $145,604 |
| FY2020 | 26 | $29,433 |
| FY2021 | 21 | $11,080 |
| FY2022 | 17 | $23,950 |
| FY2023 | 18 | $75,981 |
| FY2024 | 12 | $178,267 |
| FY2025 | 12 | $125,268 |
| FY2026 (provisional) | 8 | $412,173 |
Award sizes
- Holds the median award, $56,376
Recent awards
The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.
| Project | How it was awarded | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17, 2026 | Conduit and Cat 6 Cabling Installation at the Central Virginia VA Health Care System. 36C24626C0047 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Teralinks LLC | $232,275 | 7 | Competed Veteran-owned |
| Jul 31, 2026 | The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), Veterans Affairs Medical Center (VAMC) Requires the Construction of Additional Operating Rooms (OR) and Support Rooms at the Central VA Health-Care System in Richmond, Virginia. 36C24626C0055 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Group III Management Inc | $17,474,199 | 1 | Competed Veteran-owned |
| Jul 31, 2026 | Testing, Adjusting, Balancing (Tab) Test for SPS Lab 36C24626P0829 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | J&B Hartigan, Inc. | $9,856 | 3 | Competed Small business |
| Jul 29, 2026 | Campus Wide Camera System (Construction) 36C24626C0050 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | P&J Pro Services LLC | $8,955,000 | 1 | Competed Veteran-owned |
| Jul 16, 2026 | Replace the HVAC System That Serves the Rooms/Offices in the Cardiac Lab. 36C24626C0051 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Sandow Construction Inc | $2,653,522 | 1 | Not competed Veteran-owned |
| Nov 5, 2025 | Breaker Maintenance and Inspection 36C24626F0032 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Cancelled / $0 Approx. location | J&B Hartigan, Inc. | $163,934 | 1 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned |
| Oct 31, 2025 | Boiler and Tank Rental 36C24626P0082 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Individual contractor (name withheld) | $592,072 | 12 | Competed Veteran-owned |
| Oct 28, 2025 | Emergency Air Handling Unit Cleaning 36C24626P0111 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Bahen Inc | $152,867 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Oct 14, 2025 | Heat Exchanger and Installation Services-Additional Repairs Tubing Bundle 36C24626P0075 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Brooklyn General Repair, Inc | $106,900 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Sep 11, 2025 | Replace Nurse Call System 36C24625C0064 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Brymak Fsi JV, LLC | $7,623,654 | 3 | Competed Veteran-owned |
| Jul 31, 2025 | Installation of Wall Cabinet Plus Power and Data Cables and Receptacles in 13 Patient Rooms. 36C24625P1384 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Bhpe LLC | $35,000 | 4 | Competed Veteran-owned |
| Jul 30, 2025 | Renovate and Upgrade Wing B of the 4TH FLR for Patient Privacy and Staff Area Improvements. 36C24625C0034 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Individual contractor (name withheld) | $8,509,766 | 10 | Competed Veteran-owned |
| Jul 28, 2025 | AHU Maintenance 36C24625P1371 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Trane U.S. Inc. | $38,237 | 2 | Competed Open to all |
| Jun 2, 2025 | Heat Exchanger and Installation Services 36C24625P0924 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Brooklyn General Repair, Inc | $40,000 | 2 | Competed Open to all |
| May 23, 2025 | Emergency Repair of Chilled Water Line 36C24625P1099 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Warwick Plumbing & Heating Corp | $6,007 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Mar 31, 2025 | Remove and Replace Air Handling Unit (AHU) Dampers, AHU Controls and Pneumatic Controls in Various Areas Within the Richmond VA Medical Center Campus. 36C24625C0026 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Scipact LLC | $311,362 | 5 | Competed Veteran-owned |
| Dec 18, 2024 | Renovation of the Radiation Oncology Laboratory at the Central VA Health Care System Located in Richmond, VA. 36C24625C0011 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | MCW-TMG1 LLC | $2,620,294 | 8 | Competed Veteran-owned |
| Dec 2, 2024 | Generator Control Panel Repair 36C24625P0334 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Equipment purchase Approx. location | Electric Power, Inc. | $63,876 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Nov 21, 2024 | Expert Witness Delay Termination 36C24625F0033 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Trauner Consulting Services, Inc. | $206,746 | 1 | Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Open to all |
| Oct 24, 2024 | Boiler Safety Testing and Training 36C77625N0031 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Approx. location | Boiler Efficiency Institute, LLC | $43,790 | 2 from the IDIQ | Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business |
| Oct 9, 2024 | Window Cleaning Services 36C24625P0042 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Askew Group, L.L.C | $30,925 | 14 | Competed Small business |
| Oct 1, 2024 | Boiler Tank Rental 36C24625P0015 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Tate Engineering Systems, Inc. | $666,660 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Sep 24, 2024 | Provided Battery Replacement for UPS System Located in Building 519 in Accordance with Contract Documents. 36C24624P2003 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Vertiv Corporation | $75,774 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Jul 30, 2024 | Cooling Tower Maintenance Service 36C24624P1597 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | Swain Enterprises LLC | $93,220 | 1 | Not competed Open to all |
| Jul 29, 2024 | Switchgear Electrical Testing, Inspection, & Maintenance - 3 Year Testing Requirement for the Puget Sound VAMC - American Lake Campus 36C26024P0874 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location | I-2-I Solutions, Inc. | $123,511 | 11 | Competed Veteran-owned |
Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders.
Who won
Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.
| # | Company | Awards | Total value at award |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Swain Enterprises LLC | 8 | $744,610 |
| 2 | Tate Engineering Systems, Inc. | 4 | $1,361,380 |
| 3 | Talon Veteran Services Incorporated | 4 | $340,926 |
| 4 | Warwick Plumbing & Heating Corp | 3 | $147,457 |
| 5 | Chamberlain Mechanical Service | 3 | $65,598 |
| 6 | Advon Corporation | 2 | $17,616,880 |
| 7 | Govsolutions, Inc. | 2 | $4,268,140 |
| 8 | Phillips C&C LLC | 2 | $1,572,094 |
| 9 | Hamilton Pacific Chamberlain LLC | 2 | $1,208,219 |
| 10 | Trane U.S. Inc. | 2 | $101,390 |
How the work was bought
Competition
Was the work open to bids?
- Competed 46 (57%)
A standalone contract that was open to bids.
- Not competed 30 (38%)
Sole-source: only one company was asked.
- Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 3 (4%)
A task order placed under an IDIQ held by several companies, who competed for it.
- Order (single-award IDIQ) 1 (1%)
A task order under an IDIQ held by one company. No new competition, so it is left out of bid statistics.
Set-asides
Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.
- Open to all 40 (50%)
No set-aside: any size of business could bid.
- Veteran-owned 36 (45%)
Reserved for service-disabled veteran-owned (SDVOSB) or veteran-owned (VOSB) small businesses.
- Small business 4 (5%)
Only small businesses could bid.
Left out of the numbers above: 3 equipment purchases, 2 cancelled or $0 awards. Why?
Contracting offices buying here
Umbrella contracts used here
Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.
| Contract | Type | Orders | Ordering ends |
|---|---|---|---|
| 36E77620D0009 | Single-award The IDIQ drew 2 offers | 1 | Sep 30, 2025 |
| 47QSHA19D005X | Multiple-award | 1 | Sep 26, 2029 |
| GS10F0282Y | Multiple-award | 1 | Apr 29, 2027 |
| GS21F049BA | Multiple-award | 1 | Jan 31, 2029 |
Contracts ending soon
Recurring work whose current contract ends within 18 months, so the agency will likely buy it again (a "recompete"). The company doing it today is the incumbent.
-
Contract ends Mar 31, 2027
Water Testing
Incumbent: Individual contractor (name withheld) Buyer: VA Network Contracting Office 6 Value at award: $51,551
36C24622P0823 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) -
Ordering period ends Apr 29, 2027
Federal Supply Schedule Contract.
Incumbent: Trauner Consulting Services, Inc. Buyer: 47QRAA
GS10F0282Y on USAspending (opens in a new tab)
Trades at VA Richmond
Other bases & VA centers
- Fort Belvoir
- Naval Station Norfolk
- Joint Base Langley-Eustis
- Naval Air Station Oceana
- Marine Corps Base Quantico
- Naval Support Facility Dahlgren
- Naval Support Activity Norfolk NSY
- Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek-Fort Story
- Pentagon
- Naval Medical Center Portsmouth
- Defense Supply Center Richmond
- Naval Weapons Station Yorktown
Show all 26
- Fort Lee
- Coast Guard Training Center Yorktown
- Joint Base Myer-Henderson Hall
- VA Hampton
- VA Salem
- Naval Support Activity Hampton Roads
- Mark Center
- Fort A.P. Hill
- Coast Guard Base Portsmouth
- Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek-Fort Story - Wallops Island
- Radford Army Ammunition Plant
- Craney Island
- Fort Pickett
- Arlington National Cemetery
Report an error on this page
Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.