Base or VA center · Virginia

VA Salem: federal construction & facilities contracts

Also called: Salem VA Medical Center

Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Sep 21, 2026. Data status

Open bids here now

No open bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search

Typical award (median)

$50,034

The middle of 58 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $13.3k and $212k.

Typical number of bids

2

Median bids per award, reported for 38 of 38 competed awards. 47% drew only one bid.

Won by small businesses

86%

Share of the 58 priced awards.

Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.

What this means

  • The middle construction & facilities award at VA Salem was $50k (FY2021-FY2025, 58 priced awards).
  • That is close to the median for all construction & facilities work in Virginia ($51.9k).
  • Competed awards drew a median of 2 offers (reported for 38 of 38).
  • 47% of competed awards drew only one offer.
  • Small businesses won 86% of priced awards.
  • Tip 60% of awards with a reported set-aside were reserved for small businesses, so small firms were not bidding against large companies.
  • Tip The typical award drew only 2 bids. Less competition can mean a better chance for a new bidder.

FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist

Get alerts for new building construction work near VA Salem

  • Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
  • Deadline and amendment alerts
  • Recompete radar
  • Plain-English bid summaries
  • Competitor tracking
  • Unlimited saved searches

Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing

Your sign-up did not go through. Please check your email and ZIP code and try again. The spam check needs JavaScript turned on.

Add your company (optional)

We only email you about the launch. Delete your details any time.

Awards per year

Column chart of awards per fiscal year, FY2016 to FY2026. FY2025, the latest full year: 7 awards. Most in one year: 19 awards in FY2016. FY2026 is still being reported. 0 5 10 15 20 2016 ’16 2017 ’17 2018 ’18 2019 ’19 2020 ’20 2021 ’21 2022 ’22 2023 ’23 2024 ’24 7 2025 ’25 2026 ’26
  • FY2025, the latest full year: 7 awards
  • FY2026 is still being reported
Federal fiscal years run October to September.
Show the numbers
YearAwardsMedian award
FY2016 19 $9,666
FY2017 17 $16,982
FY2018 7 $18,238
FY2019 8 $928,000
FY2020 4 –
FY2021 14 $43,631
FY2022 14 $31,013
FY2023 13 $88,900
FY2024 10 $49,171
FY2025 7 $198,732
FY2026 (provisional) 19 $255,315

Award sizes

Bar chart of priced awards FY2021–FY2025 by size. The most common size was $25k to $250k (27 awards). The median award, $50,034, is in the $25k to $250k band. Under $25k 19 $25k to $250k 27 $250k to $1M 7 $1M to $5M 4 $5M to $25M 1 Over $25M 0
  • Holds the median award, $50,034
Priced awards FY2021–FY2025, by value at award.

Recent awards

The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.

Project How it was awarded
Sep 22, 2026 General Construction of an ICU and the Consolidation of That Space in a VAMC. 36C77626C0197 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Provisional Approx. location Sawtooth Construction JV II LLC $21,304,758 2 Competed Veteran-owned
Sep 15, 2026 Air Handling Unit Coil Replacement for the Salem VA Medical Center 36C24626P1094 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location KSC Federal Contractors LLC $90,898 3 Competed Small business
Sep 4, 2026 Building 143 Sterile Processing Services (SPS) 36C24626P1055 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location MC3 Solutions LLC $36,605 2 Competed Veteran-owned
Jul 31, 2026 Backflow Prevention Assemblies 36C24626P0808 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Equipment purchase Approx. location Vantage Urban Developments Inc. $60,000 6 Competed Open to all
Jun 11, 2026 Upgrade HVAC System Phase II 36C24626C0044 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Phillips C&C LLC $7,210,000 2 Competed Veteran-owned
May 27, 2026 MED Gas Replacement 36C24626C0039 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Mgi, Inc. $499,406 1 Not competed Open to all
May 19, 2026 Renovate Main Lobby 36C24626C0040 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Phillips C&C LLC $3,781,675 3 Competed Veteran-owned
May 19, 2026 Canteen Repair 36C24626P0693 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Marmic Fire & Safety Co Inc $3,618 1 Not competed Open to all
May 14, 2026 EHRM Infrastructure Upgrades at the Salem Veterans Administration Medical Center in Salem, VA 36C77626C0015 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Unusually large Approx. location Fox-Esa JV LLC $36,997,000 3 Competed Veteran-owned
Apr 17, 2026 Electrical Studies Call Order VISN 6 36C10F26N0015 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Dav Energy Solutions, Inc. $761,239 3 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Veteran-owned
Apr 10, 2026 Claims Consultant Services 36C24626F0065 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Trauner Consulting Services, Inc. $255,315 1 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Open to all
Apr 3, 2026 Emergency Siemens Controller System Repair for the Salem VA Medical Center. 36C24626P0566 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Siemens Industry Inc $7,549 1 Not competed Open to all
Mar 9, 2026 Upgrade HVAC System Phase II 36C24626C0026 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Date issue Approx. location Contego Environmental LLC $7,592,000 5 Competed Veteran-owned
Mar 5, 2026 Renovate Shell Space 36C24626C0028 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Bhpe LLC $198,986 3 Competed Veteran-owned
Mar 2, 2026 Replacement of Fire Pump Controller and Related Equipment. 36C24626P0414 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Eastern Fire Protection Services, Inc. $84,405 1 Competed Veteran-owned
Feb 26, 2026 Shredding Services 36C24626P0444 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Stericycle Inc $2,660 1 Not competed Open to all
Feb 20, 2026 Service Contract Inventory Far 4.17 36C24626C0021 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Phillips C&C LLC $992,392 8 Competed Veteran-owned
Jan 30, 2026 Shredding Services 36C24626P0367 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Stericycle Inc $2,660 1 Not competed Open to all
Jan 21, 2026 Installation Light 36C24626P0293 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Buffalo Supply Inc. $3,368 1 Not competed Open to all
Oct 17, 2025 Site Prep Nuclear Medicine Department Contract Award 36C24626C0012 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Revels Contracting Services, Inc $263,620 1 Competed Veteran-owned
Sep 19, 2025 Replace X-Ray Room 4 36C24625P1560 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Revels Contracting Services, Inc $196,790 1 Not competed Open to all
Sep 19, 2025 Replace Flooring in B5 L2 36C24625P1653 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Disabled Veterans Construction Inc. $75,198 3 Competed Veteran-owned
Aug 5, 2025 Service Contract Inventory Far 4.17 36C24625C0049 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Phillips C&C LLC $889,535 4 Competed Veteran-owned
Jul 19, 2025 Replace Overhead Paging System 36C24625C0046 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Hirt Electric, LLC $886,536 3 Competed Veteran-owned
Jul 11, 2025 Boiler Inspection 36C24625P0898 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Approx. location Caldaia Controls LLC $198,732 4 Competed Veteran-owned

Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders.

Who won

Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.

#CompanyAwardsTotal value at award
1 Hicaps Inc 8 $11,172,823
2 MC3 Solutions LLC 7 $6,031,163
3 J&B Hartigan, Inc. 5 $603,991
4 Phillips C&C LLC 4 $2,268,941
5 Disabled Veterans Construction Inc. 4 $385,054
6 Can See Fire Service Co Inc 4 $193,927
7 Jett's Specialty Contracting, LLC 2 $2,541,970
8 Revels Contracting Services, Inc 2 $431,105
9 District Veterans Contracting, Inc. 2 $100,558
10 Corell Electrical Contractors, Inc. 2 $33,348

How the work was bought

Competition

Was the work open to bids?

  • Competed 35 (60%)

    A standalone contract that was open to bids.

  • Not competed 20 (34%)

    Sole-source: only one company was asked.

  • Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 3 (5%)

    A task order placed under an IDIQ held by several companies, who competed for it.

Set-asides

Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.

  • Veteran-owned 32 (55%)

    Reserved for service-disabled veteran-owned (SDVOSB) or veteran-owned (VOSB) small businesses.

  • Open to all 23 (40%)

    No set-aside: any size of business could bid.

  • Small business 3 (5%)

    Only small businesses could bid.

Left out of the numbers above: 2 equipment purchases, 2 cancelled or $0 awards. Why?

Umbrella contracts used here

Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.

Contract Type Orders Ordering ends
GS21F037AA Multiple-award 3 Nov 26, 2027

Contracts ending soon

Recurring work whose current contract ends within 18 months, so the agency will likely buy it again (a "recompete"). The company doing it today is the incumbent.

Report an error on this page

Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.