Base or VA center · Maryland

HVAC contracts at NIST Gaithersburg Campus

Also called: National Institute of Standards and Technology

Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Sep 21, 2026. Data status

Open HVAC bids here now

No open HVAC bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search

Typical award (median)

$147,748

The middle of 14 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $69k and $399k.

Typical number of bids

2

Median bids per award, reported for 9 of 9 competed awards.

Won by small businesses

100%

Share of the 14 priced awards.

Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.

What this means

  • The middle HVAC award at NIST Gaithersburg Campus was $148k (FY2021-FY2025, 14 priced awards).
  • That is 2.3 times the median for HVAC in Maryland ($65k).
  • Competed awards drew a median of 2 offers (reported for 9 of 9).
  • Small businesses won 100% of priced awards.
  • The top 3 winners took 57% of priced awards.
  • Tip 50% of these awards were task orders under multiple-award contracts (MATOCs). To compete for those, you first need a spot on one of the umbrella contracts.
  • Tip 86% of awards with a reported set-aside were reserved for small businesses, so small firms were not bidding against large companies.

FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist

Get alerts for new HVAC work near NIST Gaithersburg Campus

  • Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
  • Deadline and amendment alerts
  • Recompete radar
  • Plain-English bid summaries
  • Competitor tracking
  • Unlimited saved searches

Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing

Your sign-up did not go through. Please check your email and ZIP code and try again. The spam check needs JavaScript turned on.

Add your company (optional)

We only email you about the launch. Delete your details any time.

Awards per year

Column chart of awards per fiscal year, FY2016 to FY2026. FY2025, the latest full year: 3 awards. Most in one year: 10 awards in FY2016. FY2026 is still being reported. 0 2 4 6 8 10 2016 ’16 2017 ’17 2018 ’18 2019 ’19 2020 ’20 2021 ’21 2022 ’22 2023 ’23 2024 ’24 3 2025 ’25 2026 ’26
  • FY2025, the latest full year: 3 awards
  • FY2026 is still being reported
Federal fiscal years run October to September.
Show the numbers
YearAwardsMedian award
FY2016 10 $137,395
FY2017 4 –
FY2018 9 $25,000
FY2019 6 $71,273
FY2020 4 –
FY2021 3 –
FY2022 3 –
FY2023 2 –
FY2024 3 –
FY2025 3 –
FY2026 (provisional) 0 –

Award sizes

Bar chart of priced awards FY2021–FY2025 by size. The most common size was $25k to $250k (7 awards). The median award, $147,748, is in the $25k to $250k band. Under $25k 2 $25k to $250k 7 $250k to $1M 4 $1M to $5M 1 $5M to $25M 0 Over $25M 0
  • Holds the median award, $147,748
Priced awards FY2021–FY2025, by value at award.

Recent awards

The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.

Project How it was awarded
Sep 17, 2025 Boiler and Stack Testing 1333ND25CNB190031 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Individual contractor (name withheld) $150,000 1 Competed Open to all
Sep 5, 2025 B235 Multiple Hydronic Coils Replacement 1333ND25CNB190028 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Six Mile, LLC $367,199 1 Not competed Open to all
Sep 2, 2025 Cup Free Cooling Plate Heat Exchangers Maintenance and Cleaning. NIST Campus Located in Gaithersburg, Maryland. 1333ND25PNB190444 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Mission Contracting Inc $66,786 1 Not competed 8(a)
Sep 13, 2024 Chiller Preventative Maintenance Services. Nist Gaithersburg Campus Located in Maryland. 1333ND24CNB190048 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Capital Brand Group LLC $8,100 2 Competed Small business
Apr 17, 2024 MECH IDIQ Temp Chiller Valves 1333ND24FNB190070 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) General and Mechanical Services, LLC $17,756 3 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Apr 2, 2024 Steam Trap Replacement 1333ND24FNB190073 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) J. & L. Mavilia Incorporated $145,495 2 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Aug 10, 2023 Building 220 B56 & B58 Exhaust Fan 1333ND23FNB190208 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) J. & L. Mavilia Incorporated $84,407 2 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Feb 7, 2023 BLDG. 215 AHU Repairs 1333ND23FNB190050 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) J. & L. Mavilia Incorporated $409,415 1 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Jun 2, 2022 Repair Steam Manhole 1 1333ND22PNB190198 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) The Fields Group, LLC $195,640 1 Not competed 8(a)
May 31, 2022 Install 2 Mini Split Units B225 1333ND22FNB190133 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) General and Mechanical Services, LLC $40,392 2 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Dec 30, 2021 B231 HVAC 8 Labs 1333ND22CNB190008 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Brothers Mechanical Services LLC $3,993,551 1 Not competed 8(a)
Aug 17, 2021 Duct Cleaning 1333ND21CNB190034 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Mission Contracting Inc $739,426 1 Not competed 8(a)
Aug 6, 2021 Building 318 HVAC Repairs 1333ND21FNB190166 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Flotron Contracting, Inc. $442,440 3 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Jul 27, 2021 Building 224 Ventilation Revision. 1333ND21FNB190142 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) J. & L. Mavilia Incorporated $75,485 3 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Mar 26, 2021 Mechnical Construction 1333ND21FNB190085 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Cancelled / $0 J. & L. Mavilia Incorporated $2,500 5 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Aug 21, 2020 AHU Duct Cleaning 1333ND20CNB190014 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Mission Contracting Inc $828,811 1 Not competed 8(a)
Jun 10, 2020 Replacement of AHU Steam Injectors 1333ND20CNB190011 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Washington Refrigeration Co., Inc. $1,326,052 1 Not competed 8(a)
Jun 3, 2020 Boiler Inspection Services 1333ND20PNB190330 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Individual contractor (name withheld) $8,063 3 Competed Small business
Mar 13, 2020 Replacement of Acid Exhaust Fans 1333ND20FNB190100 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) J. & L. Mavilia Incorporated $299,976 2 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 18, 2019 Trane Chiller Maintenance 1333ND19CNB190024 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Combustioneer Corporation $19,700 3 Competed Small business
Sep 13, 2019 Replace Underground Steam and Condensate Pipe. 1333ND19FNB195312 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Trademasters Service, Inc. $1,492,529 2 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Sep 12, 2019 Boiler Inspection Services for BLDG. 302 1333ND19PNB190643 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Cancelled / $0 Tekton CC, LLC $5,164 5 Competed Open to all
Aug 5, 2019 Steam Trap Replacement 1333ND19FNB195249 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) J. & L. Mavilia Incorporated $21,800 2 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Jul 17, 2019 AHU Coil Replacement 218,220 and 245 1333ND19FNB195223 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) J. & L. Mavilia Incorporated $277,900 2 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Apr 11, 2019 Replace AHU-17 in BLDG. 217 1333ND19FNB195121 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Trademasters Service, Inc. $71,876 2 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business

Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders.

Who won

Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.

#CompanyAwardsTotal value at award
1 J. & L. Mavilia Incorporated 4 $714,802
2 Mission Contracting Inc 2 $806,212
3 General and Mechanical Services, LLC 2 $58,148
4 Brothers Mechanical Services LLC 1 $3,993,551
5 Flotron Contracting, Inc. 1 $442,440
6 Six Mile, LLC 1 $367,199
7 The Fields Group, LLC 1 $195,640
8 Capital Brand Group LLC 1 $8,100

How the work was bought

Competition

Was the work open to bids?

  • Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 7 (50%)

    A task order placed under an IDIQ held by several companies, who competed for it.

  • Not competed 5 (36%)

    Sole-source: only one company was asked.

  • Competed 2 (14%)

    A standalone contract that was open to bids.

Set-asides

Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.

  • Small business 8 (57%)

    Only small businesses could bid.

  • 8(a) 4 (29%)

    Reserved for firms in SBA's 8(a) program for disadvantaged small businesses.

  • Open to all 2 (14%)

    No set-aside: any size of business could bid.

Left out of the numbers above: 1 cancelled or $0 award. Why?

Umbrella contracts used here

Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.

Contract Type Orders Ordering ends
1333ND21DNB190013 Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 5 offers 4 Sep 30, 2024
1333ND21DNB190015 Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 5 offers 2 Sep 30, 2024
1333ND21DNB190014 Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 5 offers 1 Sep 30, 2024
Report an error on this page

Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.