Heavy & Civil Construction · North Dakota

Heavy & Civil Construction federal contracts in North Dakota

Also called: ND

Numbers cover FY2021–FY2025 (Oct 2020 – Sep 2025). Data as of Oct 21, 2026; complete through Jul 13, 2026. Data status

Open Heavy & Civil Construction bids here now

No open Heavy & Civil Construction bids here right now. Updated weekly from SAM.gov · data through Oct 25. Save this search

Typical award (median)

$1,122,922

The middle of 32 priced awards, FY2021–FY2025. Half were between $278k and $6.5M.

Typical number of bids

3

Median bids per award, reported for 27 of 27 competed awards. 7% drew only one bid.

Won by small businesses

88%

Share of the 32 priced awards.

Median = the middle award: half were smaller, half were larger. Bids = how many offers the agency received.

What this means

  • The middle heavy & civil award in North Dakota was $1.1M (FY2021-FY2025, 32 priced awards).
  • That is 14% higher than the median for heavy & civil nationwide ($981k).
  • Competed awards drew a median of 3 offers (reported for 27 of 27).
  • 7% of competed awards drew only one offer.
  • Small businesses won 88% of priced awards.
  • Tip 78% of awards with a reported set-aside were reserved for small businesses, so small firms were not bidding against large companies.

FedComps Pro · coming soon · free waitlist

Get alerts for new heavy & civil work in North Dakota

  • Alerts that say if a bid is worth it
  • Deadline and amendment alerts
  • Recompete radar
  • Plain-English bid summaries
  • Competitor tracking
  • Unlimited saved searches

Planned price: $15/month or $119/year (save 34%), with a 14-day free trial. No card needed to start. Cancel anytime. See pricing

Your sign-up did not go through. Please check your email and ZIP code and try again. The spam check needs JavaScript turned on.

Add your company (optional)

We only email you about the launch. Delete your details any time.

Awards per year

Column chart of awards per fiscal year, FY2016 to FY2026. FY2025, the latest full year: 4 awards. Most in one year: 15 awards in FY2022. FY2026 is still being reported. 0 5 10 15 2016 ’16 2017 ’17 2018 ’18 2019 ’19 2020 ’20 2021 ’21 2022 ’22 2023 ’23 2024 ’24 4 2025 ’25 2026 ’26
  • FY2025, the latest full year: 4 awards
  • FY2026 is still being reported
Federal fiscal years run October to September.
Show the numbers
YearAwardsMedian award
FY2016 9 $133,150
FY2017 12 $294,565
FY2018 6 $496,424
FY2019 6 $159,250
FY2020 3 –
FY2021 7 $765,450
FY2022 15 $1,337,010
FY2023 0 –
FY2024 6 $8,743,932
FY2025 4 –
FY2026 (provisional) 3 –

Award sizes

Bar chart of priced awards FY2021–FY2025 by size. The most common size was $250k to $1M (8 awards). The median award, $1,122,922, is in the $1M to $5M band. Under $25k 2 $25k to $250k 6 $250k to $1M 8 $1M to $5M 7 $5M to $25M 7 Over $25M 2
  • Holds the median award, $1,122,922
Priced awards FY2021–FY2025, by value at award.

Recent awards

The latest 25 awards, newest first. Each contract number opens its official record on USAspending.gov.

Project How it was awarded
May 11, 2026 GAOA Creek Bank 1240LU26C0028 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Hlebechuk Construction Inc $154,045 4 Competed Small business
May 1, 2026 Repair Drainage Issue, Ring Levee Portion of the Fargo Moorhead Metro Flood Risk Management Project. W912ES26FA038 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Tunheim Construction, LLC $67,058 10 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business
Jan 22, 2026 Construction of a New Line of Drains at the West End of Garrison Dam. This Is a Dam Safety Project. W9128F26CA009 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Rme Ltd., LLC $2,978,740 1 Competed Open to all
Aug 26, 2025 Snake Creek Covers, Garrison Dam W9128F25PA097 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Kovilic Construction Co Inc $215,000 1 Not competed Open to all
Aug 6, 2025 Restore Portions of Coulee Diversion Channel of the Grand Forks Project. This Includes Damage to the Channel Slopes, Topsoil, and Foundation Material Due to the 2023 High Water Event on the Red River of the North. W912ES25FA007 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Offers from IDIQ Tunheim Construction, LLC $711,104 10 from the IDIQ Order (single-award IDIQ) Small business
Jun 4, 2025 Garrison Spillway Approach Dredge W9128F25C0017 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Dubuque Barge and Fleeting Service Co $23,816,251 2 Competed Small business
Jan 2, 2025 FMM SE-3 W912ES25C0003 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) HSG Park Joint Venture 2, LLC $18,689,732 5 Competed Small business
Nov 4, 2024 Garrison Spillway Approach Dredge W9128F25C0002 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Cancelled / $0 HSG Park Joint Venture 2, LLC $22,019,171 2 Competed Small business
Sep 10, 2024 Pembina Sheet Pile Removal W912ES24P0143 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Tunheim Construction, LLC $32,400 6 Competed Small business
Jun 17, 2024 ND-Lake Dam 140FC224C0003 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Tribal One Technology, LLC $4,678,939 1 Not competed 8(a)
May 8, 2024 GAOA Civilian Conservation Corps Campground Updates Dakota Grasslands 1240LU24C0016 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Chaparral Construction, Inc. $965,890 3 Competed Small business
Mar 11, 2024 FMM Southern Embankment SE-2B W912ES24C0009 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) R. J. Zavoral & Sons, Inc. $23,872,643 7 Competed Open to all
Feb 27, 2024 FMM SE-1B W912ES24C0008 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) HSG Park Joint Venture 2, LLC $13,208,258 3 Competed Small business
Feb 22, 2024 Ring Levee of the Fargo Moorhead Metropolitan Flood Risk Management Project W912ES24C0007 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Individual contractor (name withheld) $12,808,924 5 Competed Small business
Sep 27, 2022 Little Beaver Bay Bank Stabilization W9128F22C0043 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Mammoth Sports Construction LLC $298,571 7 Competed Small business
Sep 22, 2022 Pipestem Spillway Modification Project W9128F22C0034 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Unusually large Barnard Construction Company, Incorporated $131,496,937 3 Competed Open to all
Sep 21, 2022 ND-Long Lake NWR-Rehab Dike 140F0122C0104 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Individual contractor (name withheld) $1,408,380 2 Competed Small business
Sep 20, 2022 ND - Valley City Wetland Management District-Rehab Dam 140F0222C0016 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Kovilic Construction Co Inc $1,337,010 3 Competed Small business
Aug 1, 2022 The Contract Consists of Restoring an Estimated 22,550 Feet of Trail, 11 Switch Backs, Restoring /Constructing 369 Rolling Dips, and 1,170 Feet of *Optional Item 912 - New Trail Construction Which May Be Added Dependent Upon Completion 1240LT22C0052 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Western Sand & Gravel Inc $86,118 2 Competed Small business
Jul 26, 2022 This Project Will Replace the Liners in Fish Pond 4. The Existing Liner Needs to Be Disturbed. The Pond Has Numerous Pipes and A Kettle That Will Need to Be Accounted for During Installation the Project Will Replace the Asbestos-Cement Drain Lines 140F0122C0074 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) RJS Construction, Inc $394,113 3 Competed Open to all
Jul 25, 2022 Remodel/Improve Interpretive Shelter for Knife River Indian Village NHS. 140P6322P0031 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Granite Group, LLC $144,200 3 Competed Small business
Jul 6, 2022 Remove, Replace Chain Components at Garrison Dam, ND W9128F22F0136 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Bci Construction USA, Inc. $807,584 3 Order (multiple-award IDIQ) Small business
Jun 6, 2022 Pioneer Gulch Trail Relocation on the Dakota Prairie National Grasslands 1240LU22C0015 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) Western Sand & Gravel Inc $24,250 1 Competed Small business
May 19, 2022 Drayton Dam Project W912ES22C0007 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) HSG Park Joint Venture, LLC $7,653,300 3 Competed Small business
May 12, 2022 Fargo Moorhead Metropolitan Area Flood Risk Management Project - Southern Embankment Reach SE-2A W912ES22C0009 on USAspending (opens in a new tab) HB Construction Inc $6,110,756 6 Competed Small business

Value at award = the contract value when it was signed. Bids = offers received; "–" means not reported. Set-aside = reserved for a group, such as small or veteran-owned businesses. IDIQ = an umbrella contract; work under it is placed as task orders.

Who won

Companies with the most priced awards here, FY2021–FY2025.

#CompanyAwardsTotal value at award
1 HSG Park Joint Venture, LLC 3 $12,787,171
2 Tunheim Construction, LLC 3 $2,974,779
3 HSG Park Joint Venture 2, LLC 2 $31,897,989
4 Kovilic Construction Co Inc 2 $1,552,010
5 Western Sand & Gravel Inc 2 $110,368
6 Barnard Construction Company, Incorporated 1 $131,496,937
7 Ames Construction, Inc. 1 $114,897,115
8 R. J. Zavoral & Sons, Inc. 1 $23,872,643
9 Dubuque Barge and Fleeting Service Co 1 $23,816,251
10 HB Construction Inc 1 $6,110,756

How the work was bought

Competition

Was the work open to bids?

  • Competed 26 (81%)

    A standalone contract that was open to bids.

  • Not competed 4 (13%)

    Sole-source: only one company was asked.

  • Order (multiple-award IDIQ) 1 (3%)

    A task order placed under an IDIQ held by several companies, who competed for it.

  • Order (single-award IDIQ) 1 (3%)

    A task order under an IDIQ held by one company. No new competition, so it is left out of bid statistics.

Set-asides

Set-aside = reserved for a group of businesses.

  • Small business 24 (75%)

    Only small businesses could bid.

  • Open to all 7 (22%)

    No set-aside: any size of business could bid.

  • 8(a) 1 (3%)

    Reserved for firms in SBA's 8(a) program for disadvantaged small businesses.

Left out of the numbers above: 1 cancelled or $0 award. Why?

Umbrella contracts used here

Many jobs are placed as task orders under an IDIQ: an umbrella contract with no fixed amount. Only the companies holding it can get those orders. A "multiple-award" IDIQ is shared by several companies, who compete for each order. "–" = not reported.

Contract Type Orders Ordering ends
W9128F18D0079 Multiple-award The IDIQ drew 6 offers 1 Sep 18, 2023
W912ES23D0001 Single-award The IDIQ drew 10 offers 1 Dec 31, 2027
Report an error on this page

Wrong number, award at the wrong base, or a name that should not be here? Tell us. We check every report and fix the rule behind it.